Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Railway photography, anyone?

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Railway photography, anyone?

I have a dirty little secret to share. Although I bill myself as a nature photographer, I also love to shoot railways, an obsession I've had since growing up in the UK in the age of steam.

So during my trip to Lake Superior last week I couldn't help myself. Students of history may know that the history of Canada is inextricably intertwined with that of the CPR, and you cannot get far from the line as you travel the Trans-Canada Highway, particularly around the big lake.

So here are a couple - the first with P45+, then the same train a few minutes later with the a900.

Anyone else into my obsession?

Attachment 18564

And the Sony shot.
    Attachment 18565
    Last edited by Bill Caulfeild-Browne; 15th October 2009 at 18:23.

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

Re: Railway photography, anyone?

I enjoy photographing old trains, but I would not call it an obsession in my case. I just love mechanical detail, and old trains have enough of those!
    Carsten - Website

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by carstenw View Post
    I enjoy photographing old trains, but I would not call it an obsession in my case. I just love mechanical detail, and old trains have enough of those!
    Yes Carsten
    I do love to shoot trains as well and have done so in the past . But I do not like to shoot modern highspeed trains .
    Unfortunately , there are almost no more occasions to see steam trains in Germany , or lets say Europe .
    If you know places , just let me know . I would appreciate that very much .

Jürgen

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

Deutsches Technikmuseum Berlin Once a year they also drive back and forth on a local track a bit.
    Carsten - Website

Super Duper

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Caulfeild-Browne View Post