Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Brightscreen for D700

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Brightscreen for D700

    Just wondering if any of you have experience with the Matte Brightscreen focusing screen replacement for the D700. Does it make the viewfinder brighter and easier to manual focus? Could I install it myself or do I need to get a technician to do it?
    Thanks.
    Tim
    Last edited by tjv; 30th September 2009 at 23:50.

  2. #2
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    I've had several different Brightscreens in different bodies and disliked them all! I highly recommend KatzEye's matte screens over theirs, which I now have installed in all my cameras. The matte only isn't listed on their site but they have it if you contact them. It has a higher contrast than stock which goes a long way helping you with mf. Additionally you should look into a DK-17m magnifying eyepiece too. There are instructions for changing your screen on KE's site.

  3. #3
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Maybe you should make up your mind in advance whether you are willing to give up the original Nikon screen or not, if you are met with such a demand.
    See this thread about the subject http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?p=39807

  4. #4
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by bondo View Post
    Maybe you should make up your mind in advance whether you are willing to give up the original Nikon screen or not, if you are met with such a demand.
    See this thread about the subject http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?p=39807
    Yes, they keep your screen, while KE returns it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Thanks for the responses guys.

    I've ordered a Brightscreen Proscreen with diagonal split image and frenzel as well as 8x10 crop marks. Could be pretty cramped as I see the frenzel is 13mm in diameter. The stock D700 screen is okay but I'd like the extra focus indicators as I don't like using the electronic focus confirmation light. The linked thread does freak me out a little but I've heard so many good things about these replacement screens I thought I'd take a risk and just suck it up if it turns out not to be the best option.

    Just a question though. I was under the impression the light metering may only be affected negatively when using spot mode with slower lenses, but not when using matrix or center weighted. From reading the thread, this may not be true? Can anyone comment on this?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    I posted this in another thread but thought it may also belong here incase someone can contribute some answers / advise...

    Hi Bondo, thanks for the reply.
    I thought that might be the case but I was hoping I could get rid of it all together and only have it appear when half pressing the shutter to take a light reading. Oh well. The split prism is in fact wide enough to allow for slightly off center framing and the frenzel (sp?) is very useful as its 13mm in diameter and easy to use. I'm impressed with the screen overall, though I am disappointed about the not being able to get rid of the focus patch.
    But... The Frenzel doesn't seem to be anywhere near accurate. I don't know if this is a shim issue or, even worse, a decentered lens?

    Brightscreen actually sent me the wrong screen, which I only found out after having it installed. I wanted 8x10 crop etchings but instead was sent a basic grid. Also, and this concerns me more, but I'm not sure if the manual focus was calibrated properly in the first place as it seems on distances further than 1.5 meters I'm getting significant back focus issues. The problem is that I'm pretty sure I was getting the same problem with the stock screen. I thought it must have been my eyes so I was relying on the electronic focus confirmation, which vastly improved things and seemed accurate enough for me not to worry.
    On the other side of things, I'm wondering if it could be a lens issue. The only MF lens I have is the Zeiss ZF 35mm and it seems, when reading off the distance scale on the lens when focused, it isn't accurate at all. It reads further than the intended point of focus is.

    Anyway, so I'm returning the screen (if they accept it) and getting it changed for the 8x10 mask I wanted. The Frenzel patch doesn't seem accurate and I'm getting bad back focus...

    Help!

  7. #7
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    I bought my D700 from Brightscreen, and their screen wasn't properly calibrated for focus. I had them swap the body for a new D700 with the stock screen, and for me that was much easier and more precise to focus than their split image-microprism collar screen had been.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    I had the local technician run some diagnostics for me today. Conclusion - the Brightscreen was WAY OFF when using the split image and collar but perfect when using the surrounding matte area. The old stock screen has been put back in and focus is perfect again... I've written this email to Brightscreen asking for a refund or replacement. We'll see how it goes.

    Hello again.
    Please find below an email I sent you last night regarding my focusing screen.
    Further to that email, I have taken my camera back to the technician to have the screen removed. While with him he ran some diagnostics with the screen installed to try determine why I was getting a focus error when using the new screens split image and microprism collar. When the split image was aligned I was experiencing significant back focus. The same back focus also resulted when using the microprism collar. When using the outside matte surface to focus there were no focus issues present, which suggested to him there was something wrong with the screen. I understand you can fine tune the focus of the screen using shims but this would then throw out the surrounding matte area, which I'm not prepared to do. Is this normal performance from your screens? If so, I would like either a refund or to change my order to a plain Brightscreen with 8x10 crop marks and no focus aids. With the stock Nikon screen reinstalled, focus is 100%. How can I send my screen back to you? I assume you will pay for postage?
    Regards.
    Tim

  9. #9
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    12
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    I got the Brightscreen for my D3 and it sucks. Now got a modified Canon EC-B installed which works much better. Spot metering still affected but useabel. The matte area is much better than Nikon's - images pop into focus.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    534
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by stenrasmussen View Post
    I got the Brightscreen for my D3 and it sucks. Now got a modified Canon EC-B installed which works much better. Spot metering still affected but useabel. The matte area is much better than Nikon's - images pop into focus.
    I could have told you that. I'm stuck with one of these as well. can't even give it away. Oh well...

  11. #11
    ddk
    Guest

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    don't want to say it but I did tell you that Brightscreen sucks...


    Quote Originally Posted by tjv View Post
    I had the local technician run some diagnostics for me today. Conclusion - the Brightscreen was WAY OFF when using the split image and collar but perfect when using the surrounding matte area. The old stock screen has been put back in and focus is perfect again... I've written this email to Brightscreen asking for a refund or replacement. We'll see how it goes.

    Hello again.
    Please find below an email I sent you last night regarding my focusing screen.
    Further to that email, I have taken my camera back to the technician to have the screen removed. While with him he ran some diagnostics with the screen installed to try determine why I was getting a focus error when using the new screens split image and microprism collar. When the split image was aligned I was experiencing significant back focus. The same back focus also resulted when using the microprism collar. When using the outside matte surface to focus there were no focus issues present, which suggested to him there was something wrong with the screen. I understand you can fine tune the focus of the screen using shims but this would then throw out the surrounding matte area, which I'm not prepared to do. Is this normal performance from your screens? If so, I would like either a refund or to change my order to a plain Brightscreen with 8x10 crop marks and no focus aids. With the stock Nikon screen reinstalled, focus is 100%. How can I send my screen back to you? I assume you will pay for postage?
    Regards.
    Tim

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Quote Originally Posted by ddk View Post
    don't want to say it but I did tell you that Brightscreen sucks...
    Yeah, I know. I just heard so many conflicting opinions about all the brands that I made a snap decision. Oh well, live and learn.

  13. #13
    Workshop Member glenerrolrd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Jupiter FL/Atlanta GA
    Posts
    2,279
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    Katzeye s doesn t seem to have a D3 screen?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Brightscreen for D700

    No, I don't think they do. I'm not sure about the D3 but with the D700 you can't turn off the focus point square, only move it to other points within the limits of the AF sensor. This really annoyed me with the split prism because it was in the way and I didn't want to move it off center in case I wanted to double check my focus with the ERF. I would have liked the large microprism if it had of been in calibration with my camera but it wasn't.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •