Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: NEF's to DNG Question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    NEF's to DNG Question

    Hello All :

    At present I use a Mac and Adobe PS CS3 - I am on the verge of updating to a D3s. I will not be able to update my Mac and CS3 to CS4 all at the same time and find that the priority is the camera from an assignment and purchase perspective.

    CS3's ACR will not permit access to .nef produced by a D3s - I have never worked with DNG files nor converted .nefs to DNGs from a D3s - Thus will the following work ?

    1. Convert the D3s's .nefs to DNG and then have PS CS3's ACR open the DNGs for accurate conversions to PSD or TIFF ?

    Is the above the only extra step one has to go through in the workflow - Am I missing anything else ?

    Do confirm.


    Thanks,

    Jai

  2. #2
    Subscriber Member Corlan F.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    1,433
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    381

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    Quote Originally Posted by jvora View Post
    CS3's ACR will not permit access to .nef produced by a D3s
    Are you postive about that?
    No way to upgrade ACR independently to the PS version?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,587
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    You're correct. I hate how Adobe don't allow you to install updates to ACR for new cameras as soon as a new version of PS comes out. It's a nightmare for me teaching at an institution. It's almost impossible to keep up.

    In short - use Adobe DNG converter, then you should be able to open as normal in ACR CS3.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Lisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    396
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    40

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    I just went through this on the m4/3 thread, with a new Panasonic GH1 but only CS3.

    One solution is to download the newest version of Adobe's free DNG converter, be sure to set "Compatibility" to "4.6 or later" (the default is "5.4 or later", which won't work with CS3), and convert your raws to DNGs using it. As long as you use "4.6 or later", then CS3 and the version of ACR that came with it will be able to read the DNGs.

    Lisa

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    330
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    130

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    Lisa - excuse my ignorance but where (or at what stage) do you set the compatability to 4.6 or later? I've just visited the DNG site and it was not clear.
    Thanks in advance
    David

  6. #6
    Senior Member Lisa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Bay Area, California
    Posts
    396
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    40

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    You download and install the latest version of the DNG converter. When you go to run it, there is a button labeled "Change Preferences", and one of the things you can change is "Compatibility".

    Lisa

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    86
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    Thanks guys - This give me the "go ahead" to get the D3s : )

    Lisa, your input to change settings in the prefs is real good info - Will do it !


    Jai

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    351
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: NEF's to DNG Question

    I used the DNG converter with the GF1 and CS3 and found that it worked fine, but it was terribly slow to make the conversion on my computer. Seems like it took twenty minutes for a hundred images.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •