Site Sponsors

Thread: D3 & D300 colors

Post Thanks / Like

D3 & D300 colors

is it me or does D3 deliver richer colors than D300 with the same lenses?

Post Thanks / Like

Re: D3 & D300 colors

IMHO they both deliver the same color...
    I have been using both camera since Desember 2007

Post Thanks / Like

Thank you Andree.

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

I agree with Andre. I have had the D300 since Thanksgiving and when i finally got a D3 in January I did a lot of side by side comparisons. I found the colors to be very similar

Woody

Workshop Member
    Post Thanks / Like

LCT,

I also agree with Woody & deepdiver, but will say what you might be noticing is that the D3 does provide a larger range of tones which is a much more subtle gradiation/transition.

Best,

Ray

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by harmsr View Post
    ..I also agree with Woody & deepdiver, but will say what you might be noticing is that the D3 does provide a larger range of tones which is a much more subtle gradiation/transition...
    Yes it must be this Ray. The D300 reminds me of my D70 with its simpler colors. Looking at Andree's pics with Zeiss lenses, the colours of the D3 look much richer to me. Close to Blad or Leica perhaps. Difficult to say to which extent it comes from the body or the lenses though.

Post Thanks / Like

Bear in mind a Zeiss vs. Nikon lens will make a NOTABLE difference in color - just ask any Canon alternate glass user who switches between EF, Zeiss, Leica and Nikon to name but 4.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by robmac View Post
    Bear in mind a Zeiss vs. Nikon lens will make a NOTABLE difference in color - just ask any Canon alternate glass user who switches between EF, Zeiss, Leica and Nikon to name but 4.
    Yes i know this of course but i wonder if the glass explains everything here.

Post Thanks / Like

Sounds like it glass might be the bulk of it. Would make an interesting test...