The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Nikon colors in D3

V

Van

I anticipate purchasing a D3 soon, waiting for the 70-200 and 24-70 to be available to collect at the same time. My background is in SLR's for 30 years. Recently in the Canon camp but frustrated by AF and IQ. I have really enjoyed reading your forum and recently joined. So, I would appreciate any comments.

I find that the NEFs I had shot with a D300... the greens have a lot of yellow and blues a lot of cyan, why is that? Even the JPEGs are off. If I gather correctly, a lot of you also find this and need to compensate in saturation and WB. Why is this with Nikon sensors? Does Nikon intend for this to achieve better IQ as a whole? I did not have such a problem with Canon RAW files.

Speaking of WB, I am amazed at the differences seen in various programs such as NX and LR with NEFs. I am assuming C1 is Capture One? Is that a different program to Capture Four?

I am managing fine in LR with Canon RAWs but, find the NEFs are a different product to deal with. Is that the same you have found? I really like the IQ from the D3, so much so that I am jumping over and want to have the better program to work with.

So, I would appreciate any suggestions as to which program to use. I have heard that NX is the one to use with the D3 files but, I had found NX so slow on my Mac G5 and that was with the smaller D300 NEFs.

Whatever you can contribute would be appreciated. Much thanks. Van

robmac

Welcome.

Can't talk to you about D300 colors, but may be a simple matter of fine-tuning.