Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Capture NX2

  1. #1
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Capture NX2

    As I posted in Imaging Processing:

    NX is now NX2 with new browser and supposedly faster.

    60 day trial at NikonUSA

    Bob

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,606
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: Capture NX2

    I really deplore Nikon for selling these for cash.

    Older NX users need to pay money to "upgrade".

    They are not the brightest image processing programs either.

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: Capture NX2

    Yes, I agree. I've paid for NX but I won't do it again unless it provides a significant improvement.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Capture NX2

    Hi There
    I've long since decided not to use camera specific raw development software. I'm aware that it often produces the best results, but the complications of running different software for different cameras and having separate cataloguing software is simply too much. Added to which most of them are intolerably slow.

    Just this guy you know

  5. #5
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture NX2

    I do have to agree that there are too many choices for Raw file development.

    However, while I have Lightroom 2, Adobe Capture Raw for PS CS3, Capture One Pro and CO 4.11, Flexcolor 4.8.6 and Phocus 1.0 not to mention DXO beta 5 for Mac it does seem somewhat incongruous that we will jump almost any hurdle to have the newest hardware ( ie Nikon D3 ) but do not always maximize the possibility of raw development for that capture device.

    It is hard however to maintain even a small modicum of proficiency with the
    software when it is as unintuitive as Capture NX seemed to be. Hopefully NX2 will be an improvement...

    I do think that charging for a major upgrade in program...4 to 5 not 4 to 4.11a3beta is not unreasonable...I mean really $89 upgrade for a $5000 capture device seems a minimal expense...maybe it is the fact that we cannot sell off the old goods that makes it seem unreasonable.

    I tend to use Lightroom, Phocus and CS3 for the majority of my files as they are the most mainstream for the devices and have a huge base of readily accessible knowledge base.

    NX2 will be reserved for those rare captures that are worth the extra effort and time....now I just need to find the time to capture them.

    with regards,

    Bob

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Capture NX2

    Quote Originally Posted by docmoore View Post
    I do have to agree that there are too many choices for Raw file development.

    However, while I have Lightroom 2, Adobe Capture Raw for PS CS3, Capture One Pro and CO 4.11, Flexcolor 4.8.6 and Phocus 1.0 not to mention DXO beta 5 for Mac it does seem somewhat incongruous that we will jump almost any hurdle to have the newest hardware ( ie Nikon D3 ) but do not always maximize the possibility of raw development for that capture device.

    It is hard however to maintain even a small modicum of proficiency with the
    software when it is as unintuitive as Capture NX seemed to be. Hopefully NX2 will be an improvement...

    I do think that charging for a major upgrade in program...4 to 5 not 4 to 4.11a3beta is not unreasonable...I mean really $89 upgrade for a $5000 capture device seems a minimal expense...maybe it is the fact that we cannot sell off the old goods that makes it seem unreasonable.

    I tend to use Lightroom, Phocus and CS3 for the majority of my files as they are the most mainstream for the devices and have a huge base of readily accessible knowledge base.

    NX2 will be reserved for those rare captures that are worth the extra effort and time....now I just need to find the time to capture them.

    with regards,

    Bob
    HI Bob
    I used to use a number of programs, and I had an excellent filing system, with different folders for original / modified tiff / printable version / web version / thumbnail, which I tried to handle with iview (and others). If I wanted a black and white version, then they had a different name prefix and existed in all the folders . . . as did special crops etc.

    It took huge amounts of disc space and a great deal of aggravation.

    Nowadays I use Aperture (I may shell out to Viveza, or to Photoshop or other software). I still use the same file structure, but it only contains one folder for the original file (kept outside the Aperture Library). My storage requirements have dropped dramatically, everything is properly catalogued and easy to find.

    Last weekend I did a concert in difficult lighting conditions in a church. The photography was one thing. The post processing was all done and dusted within an hour, and the website was finished, uploaded, and the client advised within another hour.

    As for not maximising the D3 by using their software, the D3 does very nicely in Aperture, as does the M8 and my Olympus cameras. If I have to use 3 different sets of software to 'maximise' output (namely NX, Capture and Studio), then my skills are spread, and I will become less efficient. Added to which time is definitely money around here - paying 85 for an update to NX is one thing. Spending an extra 10 hours a month processing files is something quite different (20 times as much per month?).

    Just this guy you know

  7. #7
    Subscriber and Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,802
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture NX2

    Jono,

    I have to agree...Lightroom has become a favorite for quick and easy
    sorting and development. Aperture would probably work as well. Time
    is of course the limiting factor to most of our endeavors.

    Maybe I need to kill the beeper and spend a little more time out of the operating theatre...if only.

    Bob

  8. #8
    Senior Subscriber Member Steen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Denmark, CPH
    Posts
    2,500
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture NX2

    Here is a link to a "Hands-on Preview" if anyone might be interested in knowing what's new in NX2

    http://www.luminescentphoto.com/arti...x2_review.html
    Last edited by Steen; 4th June 2008 at 13:11.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    301
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture NX2

    I also have LR, ACR, Phase One C1 Pro and CX. While I agree that LR/ACR can deal very well with the average image, my side-by-side tests of higher ISO images (>1600 from a D300) shows that CaptureNX does a significantly better job... particularly with noise reduction, retention of details and recovery of shadows. For initial editing, filing, keywording, and casual/average processing I use LR for it's "do-it-all" convenience. However, CaptureNX does have a place in my workflow... notwithstanding I agree that the NX interface is clunky and it is slow. Have just downloaded NX2 trial, but haven't yet tried it; hopefully interface/speed is improved.

    John

  10. #10
    diglloyd
    Guest

    Re: Capture NX2

    Quote Originally Posted by bondo View Post
    Here is a link to a "Hands-on Preview" if anyone might be interested in knowing what's new in NX2

    http://www.luminescentphoto.com/arti...x2_review.html
    I have a preview available also, start from my most recent blog entry:
    http://diglloyd.com/diglloyd/2008-06...0604CaptureNX2

  11. #11
    Subscriber Member kit laughlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Two suitcases and the latest MBA
    Posts
    1,334
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture NX2

    I have ACR, Phase One C1 Pro, SPP (for the Foveon chip) and NX; the last I refuse to use. It's not yet "prime time" and time IS money.

    My workflow centres around ACR these days, running on a quad-core G5. I can get the looks I want in this software---and the *possibility* that I might get---perhaps---5% improvement with NX is not sufficient to make me include it for work.

    Welcome Lloyd; I am in Vancouver running a workshop right now, so send my regards from a bit closer! Cheers to all, KL

  12. #12
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,803
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: Capture NX2

    I understand the point of view of the nay-sayers here about every version of Nikon capture up until now - however, you might want to try the trial because this version is FFFFAAAASSSSTTTT. There is no comparison.

    The dust removal tool is excellent. Highlight recovery kills the abilities of ACR etc. On my MacBookPro they've exorcised the slowness demons.

    In terms of colour fidelity, it is superb compared to ACR & Aperture and you can readily see the difference.

    I do agree about the workflow aspects though - Aperture is my tool of choice again now and I can highly recommend getting a copy of Vivezza for it if you want essentially almost a one-stop solution.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •