The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Confused about which camera for my first DSLR D5100 or D7000

A

AmandaA.

Hi, I am new here (found you today while searching around) and new to the DSLR world. I am stepping out ready to learn all about this new 'world' and wanting to not start so small that I 'outgrow' the camera to swiftly and become bored or wish I would would have went with a larger camera. For this reason the D3100 is not even an option for me to purchase at this point.

However, I have been agonizing for weeks over whether to get the Nikon D5100 or the D7000. As I said, I am new to the dslr world, so I will be learning the layouts, how to use manual controls, hopefully I can use the Auto for just a big until I get it under my belt and find some dvd's and books to help me learn all this. :)

I am wanting to take this camera on vacations, and then around home I have a 3 year old daughter who is always on the move and I have lost a lot of time in taking pictures and want to not lose any more memories.
I want to learn to do her portraits at home here rather then spending $250 twice a year on pictures from Sears where she sits and cries because she is scared and I end up not having the 'fabulous' pictures some people get right at home.
In addition to that, I used to shoot a lot of wildlife photos with my old Nikon 35MM camera and would love to be able to start doing that again. :)
I make crochet hats and would like to start taking pictures of my own products I make for my little Facebook shop and most of my photos are taken in my trailer at night - so quite low and uneven lighting.