The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Hassy lens for Nikon

deepdiver

Hi All,
My friend wants to sell his Hasselblad CFE 120mm f/4 lens (in mint condition) for $2100
here is the pic:

My question is, how good this lens for Nikon Dslr?
Is this lens is a macro lens? is it a Great lens? or not a good lens?
is the price too expensive??

Since i have zero experience with MF lens, so i really need some advices from here :)

(there is a lens converter for hassy to Nikon mount, I can buy it for this lens)

Thx You :)

Andree

V

Vivek

Andree, I have the oldest version of this lens (S-Planar 120/5.6, a special purpose enlarging lens, came in a barrel, now mounted for F mount with a focus tube/tilt).

The derivatives of that very same lens (same lens formula) appeared in various Hassy and Rollei mounts. The latest Makro Planar has better coatings and the diaphram is opened further (the original S-Planar had a restricted aperture).

It is a stunning lens. Optimized for magnifications around 1/10X.

For $2,100, even it is factory direct, it is way too much money to use on a Nikon body.

I would suggest (having owned and experienced) the old PC Micro Nikkor 85/2.8 D instead. Much more versatile with its T/S functions. It is also faster, sharper and with better (buttery smooth) bokeh.

deepdiver

Hi Vivek!

Thx a lot for the information :)
I notice a lot of people mention about the resolution of this lens is not very good, IF we are using it on 35mm DSLR.
Maybe I should just stay with my 35mm type of lenses and stay away from MF lenses :D

Andree

woodyspedden

Andree