The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with the V1

Lonnie Utah

With the la-ea2 you have AF with all Alpha lenses on the NEX series.
Alpha lenses will AF. There is no image stabilization with the Alpha Lens plus NEX body combination.
I think finally it all comes down to how fast the AF really is in combination with the adapter. I have no practical experience so far for the V1 with adapter, but I do hope it is reasonably faster than m43 with 43 lenses mounted via an adapter - which REALLY sucks!
In this case, NEX with the LA-EA2 should easily beat all combinations for autofocus speed. It's basically Sony's translucent mirror and phase detect AF unit found in the A35/A55/A65/A77 cameras engineered to fit the NEX system. All other mirrorless offerings rely on at least some degree of Contrast Detect AF when using adapters to AF.

Pretty fast...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jagPH5axzDs

IS is a totally different discussion. However with the superior high ISO capability of the NEX cameras you can easily get a couple/three extra stops out of the NEX cameras that you can't get with the 1 and 4/3 cams, so it's kind of a wash...

bcaslis

It would be nice if this thread was a discussion about the V1 and it's pictures instead of a discussion about how awesome the NEX is.

ustein

Contributing Editor
>It would be nice if this thread was a discussion about the V1 and it's pictures instead of a discussion about how awesome the NEX is.

Pictures are welcome too :)