The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lens recommendation for APSC

DDudenbostel

Last year I picked up a D3100 for a small light weight vacation camera. Its a great size, weight and has good performance for my needs. I'm a commercial photographer and use Hasselblad digital and FF Canon in my work so I'm very accustomed to fine glass. This is the problem, my expectations about glass are very high and the kit 18-55 just doesn't fill the bill. I did pick up a great wide zoom, a Tokina 11-16 that absolutely knocks me out. My wife gave me a Nikon 55-200 VR that's very good stopped down a little plus very light, small and cheap.

Now the question, what's available in a small, light weight, inexpensive mid range zoom that has very good image quality. I don't care if it's fixed aperture or not. For vacation shooting its of no importance. I also don't care if it will autofocus on the 3100. It can be any brand as long as it fits te above requirements.

Any thoughts?

Isn't it nice this isn't another D800 thread?

Mike203

I owned the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 and it was very nice on my old D300. It compared well against the Nikon 17-55mm f/2.8, which is quadruple the cost. The Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 is supposed to be good too, and the Nikon 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 as well.

I haven't used them all, but those are the ones I'd be looking at.

DDudenbostel

The Nikon 16-85 sounds good if performance is good. I would be concerned a 2.8 would. E on the large and heavy side.

Thanks

Jorgen Udvang

Subscriber Member