The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

downgrading from D4 to D800

ryc

Is this a mistake ? By this I mean strictly at a camera level not necessarily what kind of photography I do or what best fits my needs. I am not a pro so besides the pro body vs the prosumer body, is there really an advantage to the D4 that is worth the extras cash ? I have it up in FS/FT willing to trade for a D800 plus cash. Will I regret this ?

pophoto

Unless you take picture of sports, wildlife, like birds, or running kids, the D4's real advantage is its AF tracking over the lesser models. For still subject matter or control over strobes, the D800 will offer simply better IQ. Also the pro Body is built for more adverse weather conditions, so if your travels take you there, this is the better body.
It is really dependent on your priorities as a shooter, but really should you be offering cash as well as the D4 body?

pophoto

:)

That's a D800 + cash = my D4
Ha, my lack of sleep obviously is showing its signs. :p
Wouldn't it be better or easier just to sell your D4 for cash and then buy a D800.

Oh another thing is, I don't know what lenses you already have, the d800 is a lot more demanding of the lenses, and now the D600 is out, you may want to weigh your options depending what you are after!

Is this a mistake ? By this I mean strictly at a camera level not necessarily what kind of photography I do or what best fits my needs.