The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Capture One 7 with D800E anyone?

tashley

Subscriber Member
Just tooling around with the newly downloaded C1-7 and some D800E files that I already know quite well in LR4 and so far getting better results with LR - BUT - that's because I have processed thousands of D800 and E files in LR. I'm just wondering if anyone has any provisional early settings that they feel get the best out of the files in the new version of C1? It seems, for example, to apply less sharpening and more NR than I remember from C16 but to be honest I never used C1 a lot for my D800 shots so I'm no expert...

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
160,.6,.1 is a good start at sharpening . Base ISO I dropped luminance to 35 as my default.

Clarity depends on image. New clarity punch is interesting as it does add mid level contrast and saturation. Very nice on landscape images at about plus 8-12. Does give it some punch use accordingly. This is my starting point but play around as you may like something slightly different in these settings.

Also watch contrast as I have been known to drop it 4-5 points and than add 3 points of black.

That's been my sauce don't sell it. ROTFLMAO

I've never own a C1 licence, always used it on try mode. I tried to learn it but find it a hard on the workflow.
I downloaded C17 and tried some interior shots that I had difficulty finding the right color in ACR and got it right on. The tonality and color separation is amazing.
I tried some exterior and they were wonderful as well.