The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Time to Upgrade?

Gino Troian

Hey all,

I'm a live music photographer based out of San Francisco and am debating whether or not to make the big upgrade to the D4/800. The majority of the shows I cover are poorly lit, which is what music photographers have to deal with. I own a lot of fast glass, but I feel like the D3's AF system is just sub-par compared to the newer cameras that are out today. I've missed a ton of great shots because the AF wouldn't lock on, not to mention I'm almost always shooting at f./1.4/2. I rarely ever shoot above ISO 6400, so I am not really concerned about ultra-high ISO noise blablabla, as it doesn't concern me.

What I'm really asking: Do you guys think it's worth upgrading to the D3s/4/800 from the beloved D3? I'm open to the Canon system, as I could probably find some good trades?

Cheers,

Gino

Magic

Hey you,

IMHO that's a question only you can answer. Are you unhappy with the quality of your recent photo's ?
Are you a "gadget freak" who wants to own the latest model ?
How much is your budget ?
You wrote that you have a lot of fast glas - so switching to Canon would be a greater financial loss than you might think.

Just my 2 cents.

Greetings, Jurgen

Alon

Not Available
Do you guys think it's worth upgrading to the D3s/4/800 from the beloved D3? I'm open to the Canon system, as I could probably find some good trades?
Gino
Coming from a D3 then you should upgrade to D3s or D4. Which one is a question of budget.

Generally, people upgrading from D3 go to D4. The ones who have a D3s do not see the need to update unless they want video.