The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

800e Mirror-up

cerett

I am new to this camera. Is there any way to shoot a continuous series of bracketed images with the mirror-up during the entire sequence?

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
Not directly. You can fire the sequence with an external intervalometer app via USB but it'll still do the mirror up sequence.

Steen

Senior Subscriber Member

Hi cerett
I do not think it is possible to raise the mirror and then have a continuous series of bracketed images taken before the mirror lowers again.

But to avoid camera shake from your shutter release pressure as well as the mirror slap (e.g. when combining EV bracketed captures into one HDR image) you can combine these features:

Bracketing settings (see p. 132-134 + p. 307-308 in the User Manual)
c3 Self-timer delay (to avoid camera shake from your shutter pressure, see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
c3 Self-timer Number of shots (to avoid camera shake from your shutter pressure, see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
c3 Self-timer Interval between shots (see p. 106 + 291 in the User Manual)
d4 Exposure delay (to avoid camera shake from the mirror slap, see p. 293 in the User Manual)

Here's an example of what actually to do, step-by-step (just a learning-by-doing example, instead of reading)

• MENU button >> CUSTOM SETTING MENU >> e5 Auto bracketing set >> e.g. AE & flash >> OK
• Press the BKT button (top left) and rotate the main (back) command dial to choose the number of shots (e.g. "F3" = three EVs centered around the correct balanced exposure)