Site Sponsors

Thread: Nikon Flash for dummies

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Nikon Flash for dummies

I am a complete newbie at using a flash. I've decided that Nikon makes it fairly impossible to screw up too badly. My friends got married on New Years Eve. It was a very informal wedding, casual enough to make me the photographer . Even after a wee bit too much champagne I was IMHO bailed out by Nikon. Here are a few.....no PP except switch to D2x profile in Lightroom and output sharpening for screen.

Attachment 10526

Attachment 10525

Attachment 10527

Attachment 10528

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: Nikon Flash for dummies

Yup,
    IMO, that is one thing that Nikon has nailed.
    -bob

Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

You did a excellent job, trick to on camera flash lighting is letting the ambient light show through as much as possible in the background which helps with that flash effect. Key word here is balance
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

www.guymancusophotography.com

Workshop Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Terry,

One of my favorite tricks with Nikon flash is to set the camera to M and the flash to TTL BL. Use ISO 400-800, f/2.8, 1/60th and point the flash up to the ceiling. You won't ever think you used a flash. Just as Guy is recommending, letting in as much ambient light will make your pictures look less "flashy". These shots look really nice, btw.

David
    David Farkas
    Leica Store Miami

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

David,