Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Marseille, FRANCE
    Posts
    972
    Post Thanks / Like

    is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    it looks like, leitax doesn't work for that lens !
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Delhi, India
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    You can always use the lense in fully manual mode - focus, aperture and exposure. In fact a lot of PC lenses work in that mode only.

    Here are some efforts
    Zeiss Contax PC-Distagon 35/2.8
    Zeiss Contax lens for Nikon cameras

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Marseille, FRANCE
    Posts
    972
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ajoyroy View Post
    You can always use the lense in fully manual mode - focus, aperture and exposure. In fact a lot of PC lenses work in that mode only.

    Here are some efforts
    Zeiss Contax PC-Distagon 35/2.8
    Zeiss Contax lens for Nikon cameras
    still nothing to mount the pc on a nikon body ;-(

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    I still have several Contax C/Y AE lenses with the 'wide' mount and I have the same issue as you do with your PC. In theory all can be adapted, but they require a lot of time redesigning the mount, plenty of machining .... and then money - as long as you don't need infinity focus or movement of the rear lens element mount.

    I've used a couple of those lenses with a simple thin C/Y-Nikon F adapter mount, but those lenses are macro lenses (60/100mm) so infinity wasn't needed. It just meant how much focusing distance you needed. I have a similar adapter to use my Canon FD 200/4 Macro lens on the same Nikon bodies, as does a Contax Bellows as it gives some tilt and shift movement, so does the Nikon Bellows PB-4. Unfortunately, using most lenses adapted to the bellows don't have the same coverage as the PC lenses do.

    I hope this is useful to you, unless this is less clear than my mud. I'm sure that the Contax PC/Zeiss is excellent, but all these complications could be avoided easier by just buying a well-used early Canon EOS 5D body, or a 1Ds. Regards,

    Gary.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Mass
    Posts
    306
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Contact Leitax directly and ask if they will custom make a mount for it. I have heard they will do that.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Marseille, FRANCE
    Posts
    972
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by garybrook View Post
    I'm sure that the Contax PC/Zeiss is excellent, but all these complications could be avoided easier by just buying a well-used early Canon EOS 5D body, or a 1Ds. Regards,

    Gary.
    i've used to have a 5D and a 5D mark II... then i've bought an aptus 22... then an aptus II 7...

    to be honest, ( for my use... ) the files from the D800 have nothing to do with the ones from the 5DII !
    i won't buy a 5D anymore !

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    8
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Fair enough - especially that I know what you've been through - and I was wandering at the end, so I'll leave you alone as the issue is known and complex. If the Leitax owner has a suggestion, he has a lot of experience with the C/Y mounts and his adapters. He and I exchanged emails several years ago about the difference the narrow and wide C/Y mounts, and I still have my AE 35/1.4 Distagon that can't be adapted, without machining that lens which I won't, to my Nikon body. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by archivue View Post
    is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    it looks like, leitax doesn't work for that lens !
    I am in exactly same situation!
    After going from Canon to Nikon, I sold off all my Canon/Contax lenses except this one. It was my workhorse for interiors. There is no lens in this focal LENGHT that is close to this lens and with Nikon mount.

    I just sent the email to Leitax. Let's see what they will say. If it is not possible, sadly this Distagon will be for sale...

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Here is the answer from Leitax:

    "
    Hello Steven,

    I'm sorry. I think it is not possible to use this lens on a Nikon camera.

    Best Regards, David
    www.leitax.com"


    My PC-Distagon 35mm is for sale!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Marseille, FRANCE
    Posts
    972
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    if i was schneider, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was rodenstock, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was nikon, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was zeiss, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was sigma, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was ......, i will design a 35 PC...

    for the current Digital bodies !

    But i'm just a photographer ;-(

  11. #11
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Quote Originally Posted by archivue View Post
    if i was schneider, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was rodenstock, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was nikon, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was zeiss, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was sigma, i will design a 35 PC...
    if i was ......, i will design a 35 PC...

    for the current Digital bodies !

    But i'm just a photographer ;-(
    Plus make it with an image circle big enough and munt options so that it could be used on a medium format system too. Hartblei managed that in the past.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    191
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: is there a way to use the Zeiss contax PC Distagon on a D800 ?

    Not selling my PC-Distagon after all... I will use it on my M240... Tried it, and it looks great!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •