The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Availability Tamron 150-600mm Nikon mount?

gurtch

I have had one on pre-order from B&H for ages. Anyone have any ideas when they might ship? We live on the bay in NJ and the wading birds are arriving, and I had sold my long lenses when I switched to Nikon D800E. I don't expect the quality similar to my previously owned Canon 500mm IS and 1.4X, but I have seen the reviews, and they look promising. Since I do not do this for a living, this lens is as much I want to spend for a hobby...I really like stalking the birds here.
Best to all
Dave in NJ

BlinkingEye

Stalking the birds with the Tamron will be a frustrating experience for you since you are familiar with the 500mm f/4. Good luck and report in after you finally get it.

D&A

Dave, I've spoken with three separate Tamron reps since the release of the Canon version. Two of the reps I know well and just spoke with one of them a couple days ago. None of them had a release date for this lens in Nikon mount. Although from my understanding Tamron does pay royalties for use of Nikon Af mount and electronics associated with it, rumors have been mentioned regarding either issues with patent infringement that need to be worked out or that Tamron is trying to circumvent. It may simply be a technical problem they discovered, specific for thr Nikon mount version. I'm sure only those close to the situation really know.

Must be a great time of year where you are to photograph.

Dave (D&A)

gurtch