Site Sponsors
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 51 to 59 of 59

Thread: C1 v Lightroom

  1. #51
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Steve,

    Your last two iterations are superior to your first, and indeed much closer to NX. However I still see a hint of bias, though I am on my laptop -- I'll withhold final judgement till I see them on my Eizo.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  2. #52
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    netherlands
    Posts
    196
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Jack
    I happened to look at this thread and am surprised at the number of users having stability problems with C17.
    My late 2009 iMac running OSX 10.8.5 with 8GB and a SSD Drive as startup has no problems whatsoever.
    My image files are all on the HD in a folder structure and my applications, LR5 catalog, and Capture One session are on the SSD along with Library, system and users.
    Import images as referenced into the LR catalog and do the first selection etc there.
    I have only one Capture One session which I use for all images.
    The alias for C1 is in the dock.
    I just drag the RAW image I want to process in C1 to the alias in the dock, and it opens in C1 along with the rest of the images in that folder. I then set that folder as the export folder, process the files and export as TIFFs or whatever.
    Back in LR all I have to do is synchronize the folder and the Tiffs are in my LR catalog.
    I gave up on Media Pro (that did cause instability) and on the C1 catalog as well as on multiple sessions.(shoots are clearly defined in my folder structure on the HD}
    maurice da silva solis

  3. #53
    Subscriber Member TRSmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Central Maine, U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,406
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    9

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    I admit to being absent from this forum for a bit. When I returned today I was quite surprised to find this thread in which many of C1's long-time supporters and believers have reached a point of frustration that has prompted either a consideration of a move to LR or an outright transition.

    My own requirements are modest, thus allowing me to maintain my love affair with C1's rendering even in the face of its quirkiness. I have the latest versions of both C1 and LR but haven't opened LR for months, primarily out of habit.

    I used to try and convince myself that I would use C1 to process my winners into .tiffs and then use LR's catalog to keep track of all those "winners". But the reality is very different and I think I'm just too lazy to do that. My guess is that I've become so comfortable with the initial processing in C1 that I don't want to do the work necessary to adapt to LR.

    However, C1 is without doubt the quirkiest, most frustrating, and least intuitive software I have ever encountered. As a professional graphic designer with national accounts for the past 15 years, I've used a lot of software and make my living with it. Since photography is really a hobby for me, the almost obsessive stance that Phase One has taken with their approach in the software (which seems to me like "we know what's best and you WILL do it the way we say") has sponsored some extremely frustrating times over the years that I've been a customer.

    Yet I still use it. But now Jack is thinking of jumping to LR? Wow. That's a major event. Like the proverbial Canary in a coal mine, Phase One should take notice. I certainly have.

    Best,
    Tim

  4. #54
    Senior Member danielmoore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Berkeley, CA
    Posts
    272
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    18

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Are there any other Windows users running Capture One 7 on Windows ?

    And if so, what are your experiences with this ?
    I go back and forth, sometimes even hourly while working, between Apple and Win OS based machines and I can say I've had no end to the headaches on the Apple machines and pretty much always smooth sailing on the Win end with regards to C1.

    I've really come to depend on the stability of running C1 under Windows.

    Jack, if you have the inclination, perhaps add a Win 7 based machine (Win 8.1 can be made to operate in a less 'tablet-like' way in a pinch). Switching inputs on the monitor is trivial.

    For my volume, transferring files isn't a pain. USB3 across the board takes the sting out of it.

    It's a little decadent, but it really gets the job done the way I prefer.

  5. #55
    Subscriber & Workshop Member GrahamWelland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Vancouver, WA
    Posts
    5,802
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    564

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    A little surprised by this thread. C1 Pro runs like a dream on my current spec Mac machines - I'm not using catalogues and keep current re. versions. The current C1 hasn't crashed on me as of yet.

    I have to say though that I've always found Capture NX2 to be the best renderer as regards native colour from all of my Nikon cameras.
    Remember: adventure before dementia!

    As Oscar Wilde said, "my tastes are simple, I only like the best"

  6. #56
    Sr. Administrator Jack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Los Altos, CA
    Posts
    10,486
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1031

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    A FWIW update. After installing the latest version, 7.2.3 a few weeks ago, things have improved massively. I am back to being a mostly happy camper with C1. I do need to give it some more time though as I have not done any large batch sets yet.
    Jack
    home: www.getdpi.com

    "Perfection is not attainable. But if we chase perfection, we can catch excellence."

  7. #57
    Member dogstarnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    nyc-london-nyc
    Posts
    204
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Well done for persevering Jack.
    A quick side note, files from my D810 look more neutral from the get go. It's early days and LR needs a work around with the beta DNG converter. But signs are good.

    I'm shooting with flash and natural light with it this week and will post results at the weekend.

    S
    Steve Brickles

  8. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    254
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Life is funny.

    I read Jack's initial thread and thought to myself "heck, I want the best quality. I use LR, why I never tried C1 ? Well, REALLY tried C1?". He and Guy Mancuso are really into the C1 PRO.

    So I downloaded a trial C1 PRO. Bought a new camera ( D800e ) and LR is so-so with its files. So I started fiddling with C1.

    I saw "the light" : Jack was right. I understand Guy. This is REALLY different.

    However ( I'm on a Mac, not a last gen but a good one ) I never had any crash. Not a single one.

    I do miss LR simplicity. I do miss LR way to index, select and tag things. C1 is clumsy.

    Funny enough, mid trial C1 PRO launched a campagin 50% off - price was decent, bought it.

    Oh man, the interface on this thing sucks. Its dreadfull. The way to catalog & index files and sort them out is pretty much non existant. Its slower. Easy integration with plugins, silver efex or autopano giga ? nope, there isnt any.

    But the files.. oh man, the files. They are just gorgeous. Very different.

    I went back to LR and try to process the same file and getting them closer. Just couldnt - and please note that I'm using Lightroom since v3. So I'm quite lightroom-savvy.

    C1 just have less mimmicks and its less slider friendly - but it delivers.

    Since I bought the D800E I was unhappy with the greens on LR. C1 works it out.

    The clarity and sharpness are trully fantastic with C1.

    Thank you Jack & Guy for "forcing" me to learn ( or its a ongoing process ) C1.

    LR served me well with my Leica's ( M8, M9, S2 ) and old Nikon's ( d1x, d2h, d2x ).

    But D800e should come with a C1 PRO trial at the very least.

    Oh and I'm happy that things improved massively in C1 latest interation
    Leica M9 | 50mm Summilux ASPH | www.proenca.eu

  9. #59
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,929
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: C1 v Lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by glenerrolrd View Post
    ...
    I am happy with LR as my DAM approach using external folders
    ...
    I'm curious as to what you mean with that sentence. What distinguishes a folder as being "external"?

    G

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •