The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Telephoto for D700?

Mitchell

I just bought a D700. Amazing camera.
I want to shoot Ospreys and other birds flying.
I'm thinking of a 400mm and the possibility of using 1.4x or 1.7x extenders for it.

Is AS-F II much improvement over AS-F I?

It seems a Wimberly head is the way to go for panning flying birds. Does VR help with that setup?

I'm new to autofocus so I need help. I've got some decent results pre- and manual focused, but would like to get better focus and higher keeper rate.

Will focus tracking work with diving birds?

All these questions relate to getting the newest version 400 mm or something older.

Thanks for any help.

Best,

Mitchell

View attachment 13837

glenerrolrd

Workshop Member
I asked all these questions when the D3 came out. There is a post on this forum under my user ID that covers autofocus settings on the D3 ....the recommended solution is to use the focus points and lock on using the AF-ON button rather that the shutter release. But you need to go through every setting in the AF menu . Whats recommended here is the approach used by sports photographers. I checked on several forums.

The other alternative is on Ken Rockwell s website. He recommends using the maximum amount of automated support. This works well and for some situations better than the focus point .

You will miss with either alternatives unless the subject is large and in the middle of the frame..even then you will get some with the wing tip in focus verse the fish in your picture.

You can get a lot better the more you use the system and become familiar with the alternatives.