The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Nikon D 850 is very good

stngoldberg

While I don’t consider myself any kind of technical expert evaluator of photography hardware and software (although I have been a serious and passionate amateur photographer for over 40 years), I have owned the Nikon D500, D800 and D810; and I notice a very sizable improvement in the ability to recover shadow and highlight detail when using my new Nikon D 850.
I also own the Phase One 100mpx back and IMHO, the Nikon D 850 comes very close in comparison regarding resolution and/or overall image quality.
I must admit my experience is limited to Nikon’s excellent 500mm f4 lens at this point and I must also admit that I use Hasselblad lenses on my P1 back; however I am reporting that this D 850 sensor is really good and a significant improvement over the D 810.
Stanley

Paul2660

While I don’t consider myself any kind of technical expert evaluator of photography hardware and software (although I have been a serious and passionate amateur photographer for over 40 years), I have owned the Nikon D500, D800 and D810; and I notice a very sizable improvement in the ability to recover shadow and highlight detail when using my new Nikon D 850.
I also own the Phase One 100mpx back and IMHO, the Nikon D 850 comes very close in comparison regarding resolution and/or overall image quality.
I must admit my experience is limited to Nikon’s excellent 500mm f4 lens at this point and I must also admit that I use Hasselblad lenses on my P1 back; however I am reporting that this D 850 sensor is really good and a significant improvement over the D 810.
Stanley