Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Thread: GPS for Nikon?

  1. #1
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    GPS for Nikon?

    The D850 manual is a daunting 400 pages so I am still reading through it. On page 221, it references the Nikon GPS attachment for the camera.

    A quick check at BH Photo and the ubiquitous "Item Discontinued" or similar notification is displayed.

    A quick check searching for a replacement led me down several dead ends.

    So, is GPS not a "thing" anymore and sales have not justified the units? Or is there something else out there for the D850?

    Dave (GT)

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    A bit north of Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    780

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Hi Dave, is this the answer? (don't know anything about it though)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0oaSbnv50Hs
    best
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  3. #3
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thorkil View Post
    Hi Dave, is this the answer? (don't know anything about it though)
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0oaSbnv50Hs
    best
    Well, it took awhile to figure that out but I now have the Bluetooth doing what it is supposed to be doing. I am still not sure how to access the coordinates on the MacBook Pro yet. Get Info only shows the Latitude.

    But, yes, this seems to be the best (only?) way if I can get used to the workflow.

    Stay tuned, more testing follows!
    Dave (GT)

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Dave, if you go the SnapBridge method doesnít your phone need service since the Bluetooth is pulling it off the phone?

    I have been considering this.

    http://di-gps.com/shop/di-GPS-Profes...sional-M-PF1-M

    Paul C

  5. #5
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Dave, if you go the SnapBridge method doesn’t your phone need service since the Bluetooth is pulling it off the phone?

    I have been considering this.

    Eco ProFessional M

    Paul C
    Paul,

    Apparently, you are correct. The SnapBridge method is not optimal for me: it is cumbersome having to use two devices; phones have spotty service; and the whole process is just too much.0

    The Eco device seems to have its supporters. Hmm.. how much is it in USD? $150? Probably cheaper than the discontinued Nikon unit. I like that it is a 10 pin plug in rather than having a cord and using the hot shoe like another unit.
    Thanks for the heads up!

    Edit: it seems that Bluetooth transfer does not require service but the WiFi certainly does. There are some who use an old iphone (without service) for Bluetooth. It is easier and less power drain.

    But, still, having two devices instead of a camera stand alone does not make sense to me. Shoot and tag as you go" is such a basic concept, I just don't want to fiddle with a phone too, so I will not be using SnapBridge.
    Last edited by dave.gt; 30th March 2019 at 05:14.
    Dave (GT)

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Hi Dave

    Yes it seems to fit in the 10 pin socket. Has a front pass through so a remote can be used. I have thinking of trying one for a while now.

    Itís strange what mainline companies choose to leave off a camera.

    The D850 is hard wired to see a GPS so hopefully this will work well.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Hi Dave

    Yes it seems to fit in the 10 pin socket. Has a front pass through so a remote can be used. I have thinking of trying one for a while now.

    It’s strange what mainline companies choose to leave off a camera.

    The D850 is hard wired to see a GPS so hopefully this will work well.

    Paul C
    Cool... I have read some good reviews on the Evo!

    I guess the other option is to buy a used Nikon unit on Ebay for about the same price. ???
    Dave (GT)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by dave.gt View Post
    Cool... I have read some good reviews on the Evo!

    I guess the other option is to buy a used Nikon unit on Ebay for about the same price. ???
    I don't know much about the Nikon unit. I believe it fits in the flash socket, but not sure how it attaches to the camera.

    Wondering if the Nikon attaches to the 10 pin if they offer a passthrough.

    Paul
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  9. #9
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    I don't know much about the Nikon unit. I believe it fits in the flash socket, but not sure how it attaches to the camera.

    Wondering if the Nikon attaches to the 10 pin if they offer a passthrough.

    Paul
    TBH, I read this several times and I guess I am just tired tonight, and I am not sure what it says. I think it attaches to the hot shoe now. And there are some cables to attach to accessories. The camera strap clip appears to be for hanging it on the strap when a flash is being used. Not sure...

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._GPS_Unit.html
    Dave (GT)

  10. #10
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Here is a good review for the Eco:

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=lfkMwWQm-Qw

    Dave (GT)

  11. #11
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    And here is another, but it has a cord...

    product_view

    The GMAX is more expensive but preferred by some over the N3:

    product_view
    Dave (GT)

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    I bought the Nikon GPS originally. It was a dog. I then found the Solmeta. It works well, and geotags the files just like the Nikon
    https://www.solmeta.com/

    There may be better solutions these days but I havenít gone looking.
    Cheers,
    Jeff
    www.jeff-grant.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  13. #13
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffg53 View Post
    I bought the Nikon GPS originally. It was a dog. I then found the Solmeta. It works well, and geotags the files just like the Nikon
    https://www.solmeta.com/

    There may be better solutions these days but I havenít gone looking.
    Hmmm... Jeff, I have read reviews of the Nikon unit and they confirm your experience. The Solmeta unit has good reviews and I could live with the cord.
    Dave (GT)

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Solmeta, if you use the 10 pin to Nikon D850, you lose the ability to have a cable release, at least it seems that it uses the same 10 pin port with no pass through.

    They show a USB cable, connecting to different older Nikon Bodies, I wonder if it would work on the D850, allowing the 10 pin to be free?

    Paul C

  15. #15
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Solmeta, if you use the 10 pin to Nikon D850, you lose the ability to have a cable release, at least it seems that it uses the same 10 pin port with no pass through.

    They show a USB cable, connecting to different older Nikon Bodies, I wonder if it would work on the D850, allowing the 10 pin to be free?

    Paul C
    Hi, Paul,

    This morning, I was playing around with SnapBridge and the Bluetooth only. To my surprise with the iphone5, it worked flawlessly, fairly quickly and I just left the phone in my pocket.

    Straight OOC... no post work/ Early morning low light.
    D850 50/1.8:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC4176.JPG 
Views:	20 
Size:	667.7 KB 
ID:	140574

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC4177.JPG 
Views:	21 
Size:	702.0 KB 
ID:	140575

    I suggest giving SnapBridge a test drive with only Bluetooth. It works great indoors and outdoors, as long as you enable RAW + fine jpeg which I forgot to do yesterday, thus the frustration. LOL...

    I think this may be my solution. I am interested to see how it works for you.

    WiFi worked but I will stick with Bluetooth for awhile and revisit WiFi later.
    Dave (GT)

  16. #16
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Checking the Bluetooth protocol again:

    And it worked seamlessly with jpeg to phone and then to the forum here.

    The geotag information went directly to the RAW file and is embedded there. (In the interest of privacy, it will not be posted here.)

    Last edited by dave.gt; 30th March 2019 at 07:29.
    Dave (GT)

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    A bit north of Copenhagen
    Posts
    2,115
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    780

    Re: GPS for Nikon?


  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Hi Dave,

    I will try it. However if your phone has no cell service, does the GPS still work? Curious, as I always have a phone with me. Just assumed it needed service, which most times it won't.

    Thanks
    Paul

  19. #19
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Hi Dave,

    I will try it. However if your phone has no cell service, does the GPS still work? Curious, as I always have a phone with me. Just assumed it needed service, which most times it won't.

    Thanks
    Paul
    According to one of the forums, I forget which one, maybe Nikonians, Bluetooth does not need service. When you attempt to download photos via WIFI, you get a notice that it needs to be synced with the phone and all the settings on camera and in the app. I am not yet having any luck with WiFi... but I am sure it is just me.

    I like the Bluetooth!
    Dave (GT)

  20. #20
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Update:

    After using Bluetooth for 5 days now, I can recommend it for quick Geotags of files as you shoot. It takes only a few seconds to turn on the SnapBridge app and the camera is already set to go.

    When you get home, the files on the memory card are tagged! Easy!

    Dave (GT)
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    I was able to get it running today, Nikon's Bluetooth is strange, and I did not find it very user friendly. On my iPhone it creates 2 entires, one is connected, the other is not. But if you delete the one not connected, the one connected goes away. Then you have to totally delete the snap bridge app and start over.

    I shot about 100 or so images with the phone in my pocket, and all of them were tagged. You get a satellite icon on the 2nd review screen (at least my 2nd review screen) the first screen is the 100% view, 2nd screen shows a smaller image in the upper left, then on the right side of that screen you get the icon. There is also a double ended arrow that shows up on another screen, again which I assume means, you have a connection to your iPhone from the camera.

    Still need to get out in an area where I don't have cell service to see if it will still write the coordinates.

    It seems that once you turn on Bluetooth on the camera, it will be active so when you power off the camera and back on later, bluetooth is still active, you get a tiny bluetooth icon on the top camera LCD display right about the remaining image count.

    Tried pulling a few images down, and the large jpgs take a bit too long to pull many files down to your phone, but you could easily get a few down.

    Nice feature, thanks to Dave for leading the way.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  22. #22
    Senior Member JohnBrew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    823
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    The users on Nikongear are touting the Foolography Unleashed for GPS. Home ¬Ľ foolography
    It certainly looks interesting.
    Even more interesting is the Z7 manual reference in which Nikon says their GPS unit will work and then states "these units have been discontinued by Nikon" !!!!

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    353
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    3

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    I was able to get it running today, Nikon's Bluetooth is strange, and I did not find it very user friendly. On my iPhone it creates 2 entires, one is connected, the other is not. But if you delete the one not connected, the one connected goes away. Then you have to totally delete the snap bridge app and start over.

    I shot about 100 or so images with the phone in my pocket, and all of them were tagged. You get a satellite icon on the 2nd review screen (at least my 2nd review screen) the first screen is the 100% view, 2nd screen shows a smaller image in the upper left, then on the right side of that screen you get the icon. There is also a double ended arrow that shows up on another screen, again which I assume means, you have a connection to your iPhone from the camera.

    Still need to get out in an area where I don't have cell service to see if it will still write the coordinates.

    It seems that once you turn on Bluetooth on the camera, it will be active so when you power off the camera and back on later, bluetooth is still active, you get a tiny bluetooth icon on the top camera LCD display right about the remaining image count.

    Tried pulling a few images down, and the large jpgs take a bit too long to pull many files down to your phone, but you could easily get a few down.

    Nice feature, thanks to Dave for leading the way.

    Paul C
    I see this double BT entry also with Beyerdynamics Amiron headphones. Tried to delete one and had to run the setup again. Learned my lesson :-).

    Note that SnapBridge has three location data accuracy settings: low, medium (update every 60 sec), and high (update every 15 sec).
    I have mine set to medium.
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  24. #24
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    From what I have read, the Nikon units were problematic. I suppose that partly answers why (along with high price) they were discontinued.

    Photography should be seamless, fun and not a PITA. There is no way I want yet another remote unit to carry around, especially if all I am going to do is tag the files. The iPhone is enough to put up with...

    The Hasselblad Phocus worked well for me on location with photo shoots last year. It was WFI and I had no real issues with it. Certainly it made the photo shoots easier especially when outdoors and images on the screen were washed out in the bright light.

    The Nikon Bluetooth is a step in the right direction. I can live with that!
    Dave (GT)

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Took the camera on a bit of a hike. The SnapBridge gps connection worked fine.

    I switched back to pure raw and it still records the info as you still see the satellite icon. However you canít download any files to phone. So I ended up using the medium setting for jpgs as I at times would want to use an image from camera to post online.

    Connection seems pretty solid. Turning off camera has no negative effect.

    Left mine at the medium level for accuracy.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Big test today. Changed battery in camera. I wondered if the Bluetooth would re enable or if I would need to set it up again.

    On power up it took about 3 shots then it was syncing the coordinates again.

    So far so good

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  27. #27
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul2660 View Post
    Big test today. Changed battery in camera. I wondered if the Bluetooth would re enable or if I would need to set it up again.

    On power up it took about 3 shots then it was syncing the coordinates again.

    So far so good

    Paul C
    Hi, Paul,

    How is the Bluetooth/SnapBridge working for you so far?

    Surprisingly, I can't find anything to complain about.p
    Dave (GT)

  28. #28
    Senior Member dave.gt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    1,997
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    77

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Paul,

    Found it!!!

    No phone service required for GPS:

    https://www.nikonians.org/forum/topi...on-geotaggers-
    Dave (GT)

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    990
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    What are the advantages of using GPS in a camera?

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Quote Originally Posted by jdphoto View Post
    What are the advantages of using GPS in a camera?
    Geotags more than anything. Nice to have the exact coordinates.

    LR map module will also point right to spot where image was taken.

    Nikon should have long ago included this in camera. Most other companies now have it. Cost of a gps module is pennies.

    Paul C

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Little Rock AR
    Posts
    2,427
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    8

    Re: GPS for Nikon?

    Yes it works where phone has no cell service, finally got out to try it.

    However it's still buggy to me.

    The snapbridge app seems to eventually time out and if you turn the camera on and off a lot (like when I work birds), the GPS connection will drop.

    The trick to getting it back is going to the snapbridge app, and hit the bluetooth, and or going back to the camera menu and hitting the menu item where it selects Bluetooth. Sometimes it takes a bit of going back and forth but so far eventually the two start talking again. When they do the images are tagged correctly.

    Paul C
    Paul Caldwell
    [email protected]
    www.photosofarkansas.com
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •