The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Weatherproof Nikon Cameras and Lenses?

dave.gt

Ummm...:loco:

We have stayed too far from the topic.:)

Weatherproof cameras and lenses. Have we really contributed to that question so far? I would not mind discussing rain jackets, plastic bags, etc. but we do need to start somewhere.:thumbup:

Bugleone

Living in England this is actually well within my sphere of experience...:cool: When I was a photographer my kit for the hills always included a waterproof poncho folded flat with no air inside and stored in the lid pocket of my rucksack. Here in the UK rain can come out of a sunny sky and it's seconds to get the poncho over the rucky while still wearing it and yomp on.... When the camera is set up on the tripod and one is suddenly getting wet either thru a squall or a passing low cloud (as can happen on the Welsh hills) then the poncho can be thrown over the whole rig including the photographer and the lens can be inside the poncho hood with just the lenshood showing...a suitably placed 'bulldog' clip can hold the hood close round the lenshood. Some really atmospheric shots can be had this way. a straigh sided lens hood helps considerably.

The best poncho to use is the German army item from the mid 60's to 80's, which is semi rubberised and big enough to 'bivvy' under, also has strong eyelets with metal reinforcements, is plain field gray rather than the later DPM pattern so is better where other people may see,.....can be used as a ground sheet or a wind shelter too.