The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sigma DP3M

Lainer

What metering mode do you use? Switch them around and see which will work better for your subjects. There is a big luminance difference between foreground and background in these shots. If -0.3EV exp comp. is all that is needed for these shots then your settings are fine.

Take a look at this thread: http://www.getdpi.com/forum/other-cameras/46298-foveon-sensor-better-high-iso-than-i-thought.html
Well, I am relatively new to Sigma, having bought the DP2M last year. Can someone explain the luminance feature in SPP and why i would want to adjust it? Is it just another way of saying, "Smoothing out the noise?" I typically use Aperture priority with Ozzy due to trying to keep his nose and eyes sharp. If I shoot street, I also use Aperture Priority. I use Manual when I want to fine tune, which I think the DP3M needs more than the DP2M. The DP3M seems to be better in manual, but only if I can see the LCD screen. Being older and having not the best eyesight, I rely heavily on the AF focus. Speaking of which: What size of focus are do you guys use? Is it better to make it the smallest or the largest? I also use center weighted metering. Is that better than spot? Sometimes different cameras perform better in certain modes. I really wish that we could have a book on Sigma DP Meriills, SPP and all the tricks. Maybe we should all come together and share cheat notes, make an eBook and sell it to the masses? I'm sure we could all contribute. Isn't that a great idea? then we can go to one source to find out what the tricks are to using this camera settings and SPP. I don't