The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Sigma SD Quattro vs. Sony A7rII vs. Sigma DP3M

ggibson

I picked up a Sigma SD Quattro with 30mm f1.4 kit lens last month and tested it against my Sony A7rII and Sigma DP3M. I thought I would share some comparison images and impressions here for folks who might be curious to how image results from these cameras compare. Standard disclaimer--I'm not a pro reviewer here so you must take results with whatever grain of salt you would like. I don't have a perfectly comparable focal length to compare across each camera, so the framing is obviously not perfect between the different cameras (I'm using primes here). These shots are taken by moving the camera/tripod setup to keep the object approximately the same size in the frame. This gives a pretty good look at resolution of the sensor. I also ended up shooting these wide open so that I could see the different bokeh/compression results from each lens. Focus is on the green leaf in the center.

Processing: for the Sigma X3Fs and X3I, I process them in Sigma Photo Pro and export them as 16-bit TIFFs. Then, I import these into Lightroom with the Sony RAWs and the Sigma DNG. After attempting to color-match these results and find the best balance of noise reduction for each file, I exported the Jpegs here. This part is difficult to find a single process that works well for all files (Sigma DNGs and X3Fs behave a bit differently in my experience), so insert your grains of salt here as needed. They are the best results that I could come up with for each file type in a reasonable amount of work.

Here's the lineup all together: