Site Sponsors

Thread: K5 at the REO Speedwagon concert.. 12 photos

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

K5 at the REO Speedwagon concert.. 12 photos

Many here know that for the last 10 years I have done all of my concert photography using Canon gear, mainly the 20D, 5D and 5D II. Several people have commented, either in email or in a post, that they wondered if the K5 would work for my concert work since I sold every piece of my Canon gear.... the answer is yes.

Saturday night I had my first chance to test the K5 as a concert camera and the results are good. I used the K5 and the 18-135 (for versatility) and shot most of the time at ISO 800 and 1600... dim stage lighting forced the higher ISO.

I would say that if I had a zoom with a little more reach and a little faster glass I could have done much better but I am satisfied with the photos below as the K5 is still new to me and I am still learning the camera and its various settings and functions.

Anyway... here is REO Speedwagon performing at Billy Bob's in Fort Worth, Texas.

Jim Radcliffe
    www.boxedlight.com

Subscriber Member Jorgen Udvang's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Re: K5 at the REO Speedwagon concert.. 12 photos

Terrific photos! Looks like a terrific concert as well.

Subscriber Member
    Post Thanks / Like

Really good stuff, Jim. Enjoyed them all.

Roy Benson

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Excellent Jim! Great photography! And it looks like the K5 held its own in low light. What kind of shutter speeds were you getting with 800 and 1600? Did you do a lot of PP other than downsizing? How did the 18-135's perform in low light? Still fast and hunt-less?
    Armanius
    My Flickr

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like

Great shots... You always seem to squeeze every bit of performance out of every camera. Your shots with the D-Lux 3 inspired me to buy a D-Lux 4 when it came out.
    Sony Visible Light & IR Photographer
    http://www.iiinelsonimages.com

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like