Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Knorp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    4,003
    Post Thanks / Like

    Lightbulb K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    Since a few weeks I'm playing with my K5 and being rather new to dSLR cameras I still don't master it fully.
    In particular all kinds of menu settings still hold a question mark to me

    Using Auto ISO in Av mode I frequently noticed that the shutter speeds got a little to slow for comfort. I mean 1/25 seems RF territory to me.

    So here it is: K5-FFI-001: Auto ISO - slowest shutter speed selectable (by hand or lens dependable)

    Anyone out there having firmware wishes and /or improvement suggestions ?
    Let's hear it !


    All the very best.
    Bart ...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    Well, I think they should definitely give more functions that could be assigned to the RAW/FX button. The ones possible today are mostly irrelevant to me. I'd like for example the switch between AFS and AFC.

  3. #3
    Senior Member m3photo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    28

    Re: K5: Advantages

    Quote Originally Posted by Knorp View Post
    Using Auto ISO in Av mode I frequently noticed that the shutter speeds got a little to slow for comfort. I mean 1/25 seems RF territory to me.
    Pentax was the first manufacturer to realize that digital cameras have several films of different speeds on board hence implementing the TAv option. Thereafter the rest followed suit with a watered down Auto ISO option (Sv in Pentax - which is still better) embedded in their menus.
    This is the reason I use these cameras in preference to any others in aerial work where I need both 1/1000 and f/8 (for example) - the camera takes care of the ISO which I can still limit to between 200 and 1600 for instance.
    In your case setting TAv to, say 1/125 and f/11 (which can even be configured to the USER setting for immediate dialled access), is far easier than redoing menus, believe me.

  4. #4
    Senior Member m3photo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    28

    Re: Switches and Menus

    Quote Originally Posted by emr View Post
    Well, I think they should definitely give more functions that could be assigned to the RAW/FX button. The ones possible today are mostly irrelevant to me. I'd like for example the switch between AFS and AFC.
    Yes, they should.
    Yes, they are.
    However, firmware application to allow the user to reconfigure switches while good, is ridiculous when there is already a switch that specifically does the task.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    EU
    Posts
    325
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Switches and Menus

    Quote Originally Posted by m3photo View Post
    However, firmware application to allow the user to reconfigure switches while good, is ridiculous when there is already a switch that specifically does the task.
    While in principle I agree with you, I don't think it would be that silly to be able assign the AF mode change (in addition to other functionalities) to a button you can easily press with one finger instead of using the rotating switch which I find clumsier.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Ario Arioldi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Milano, Italy
    Posts
    784
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Switches and Menus

    Quote Originally Posted by emr View Post
    While in principle I agree with you, I don't think it would be that silly to be able assign the AF mode change (in addition to other functionalities) to a button you can easily press with one finger instead of using the rotating switch which I find clumsier.
    This is true as long as the possibility to assign a particular function to that button is unlimited.
    If this is not the case, I think that priority should be given to functions for which a dedicated switch does not exist and are therefor accessible from inside the menu only.
    Cheers,

  7. #7
    Member Armanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    More user defined function buttons would be awesome. That's one of the things I appreciate about the GH2's controls. Although I like all the dials on the K-5 better. Yeah, I'm a sucker for dials!
    Armanius
    My Flickr

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Herefordshire UK
    Posts
    124
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    Anyone out there having firmware wishes and /or improvement suggestions ?
    Let's hear it !


    All the very best.[/QUOTE]
    Firmware-auto focus.My only real niggle.The faster and more accurate the better,and I feel that there is still room for improvement.

    Improvements-see abovethe k5 is a big improvement on the k20d (my previous body)imho,and why not try and match canikon in this area,the k5,imho has done a great job of catching up elsewhere(high iso for example).
    I'm sure that pentax will push on and crack it
    The TaV auto mode is just one step closer to being adopted by everyone else.Heading down the iso'less sensor road I've read about maybe?
    Regards
    Malcolm

  9. #9
    Member Armanius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    6

    Re: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    Yes, more accurate auto focus would be HUGE. I'm having way too many issues with AF.
    Armanius
    My Flickr

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: K5: future firmware improvement(s)

    Quote Originally Posted by Armanius View Post
    Yes, more accurate auto focus would be HUGE. I'm having way too many issues with AF.
    Same here.

    Plus I dont want to have to press that center button to switch between WB and AF point postion.
    Or is this possible allready?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •