The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Need info on 645D for a friend

fotografz

A pro friend of mine is interested in going MFD, but these are tight financial times for many Pros, so he wants to keep it realistic.

I suggested the Pentax 645D ... but I have zero experience with it or Pentax for that matter.

Is this camera available in the USA from reputable and knowledgable dealers with good after sales support?

What AF lenses are available that work well with this camera? My pal isn't interested in manual focus, nor 3rd party adapted lenses ... but his lens needs are not great ... 35ish wide angle, normal, and a portrait lens.

How available are the cameras and AF lenses? What focal lengths are they?

Has the tethered in-studio issue been dealt with? This is not a deal breaker for him, but it IS a consideration.

What is the dynamic range of this camera compared to other 40 meg MFDs?

BTW, a fixed back is not an issue. He doesn't use a field camera and has no plans to use one.

Any help would be most appreciated!

Thanks,

-Marc

benroy

Subscriber Member
Mark: two quick answers: I just purchased a 645D about a month ago from B&H...you don't get more reliable, reputable, knowledgeable, and supportive than B&H (IMO).

There are three AF lenses that I know to be available: the 25, 55, and the 45-85 zoom.
The 45-85 zoom I use and can recommend...all the rest of my 645 lenses are MF lenses (A).

The 645D is the whole package...back, viewfinder, grip...all one unit.

Hope this helps.

Roy Benson

Shashin