The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with images taken with the Pentax K1

WildRover

I haven't posted anything for quite awhile. I unfortunately don't get out and use my K-1 as often as I should. I'm still learning some of the functions that the camera has. Here is a photo using the Interval Shooting mode. I had the intervals set wrong, but still was able to get 7 or 8 exposures of 1.6 seconds each to smooth out the water and "see" underneath better. I thought I had the camera set for 12 or 15 exposures, don't quite remember, but the interval between exposures messed me up. This probably needed the 15, or maybe more to smooth out the water better. I took a separate exposure for the sky with lots of negative clarity added to it in Lightroom, and blended the two together in photoshop. I shot this same scene the year before with the Pentax 645D with a longer exposure, but with that too, the water wasn't smooth enough. I will have to keep going back to get it right. Next time I might stop down more for the sky and clouds to soften and lengthen those with a long exposure. With a long enough exposure and the correct (shortest) interval, the clouds might work with the Interval Shooting function. The image I used was too schizophrenic in the sky so therefore the blend. This was a horizontal shot that was cropped square. I think I might take advantage of the square cropping feature in the future. That will aid in finding 1x1 compositions.

K-1, 15-30 zoom at 15mm, f/11

Rick

Attachments

WildRover