The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Wildlife Photography Using Pentax 645Z - Masai Mara

Hello friends,

It is nice to be a part of this forum. I have long been a Pentax user starting with K-1000 and at present with 645Z and Ricoh GR Digital II. I also have a Canon 50D. BTW, I have been a serious amateur for the past 2 decades and I am 50 years old.

This is my first post, and I hope to get some sage advice on an upcoming event in my life.

I am heading to Masai Mara in August 2019 for a 6 day safari. This will be the very first time that I will be trying my hand at wildlife photography. Otherwise, I am only into landscape photography so far.

My Kit comprises the following:-

Pentax 645Z with the following lenses:-

(a) HD PENTAX-DA645 28-45mmF4.5ED AW SR
(b) HD PENTAX-D FA645 35mmF3.5AL[IF]
(c) smc PENTAX-D FA645 55mmF2.8AL[IF] SDM AW
(d) HD PENTAX-D FA645 MACRO 90mm F2.8ED AW SR
(e) smc Pentax-A* 645 150mm F3.5
(f) SMC pentax-FA* 645 300mm F4 ED [IF] OR SMC pentax-A* 645 300mm F4 ED [IF] (One of them will be purchased in next two days)
(g) smc Pentax-FA 645 400mm F5.6 ED [IF]
(h) Pentax 645 Rear Converter 2X

Canon 50D with the following lenses:-

(a) 50mm f1.8 II
(b) EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM

Finally, the one of its kind Ricoh GR Digital II (2007 vintage).