Site Sponsors

Thread: Fine art printing method source

Post Thanks / Like

Fine art printing method source

Hi, I hope this question hasn't been already answered but I wasn't sure what to search for.

I have been to a few galleries from the "high profile" commercial landscape and wildlife photographers around the country. I'm sure many of you know who I'm speaking about, (Peter L etc.) Although I do not personally love the look, I'm always happy to see photographers selling prints for lot of $$$$$$.

My question is about how they do their printing. I've been printing for many years on everything from Cibachrome, to Lambda to Light-jet, then on to Di-Sub and finally mostly inkjet these days.

I'm not crazy about the look of those glitzy prints, but customers seem to be drawn to them and I would at least like to have the option to offer it for some of my work to certain markets.

Does anyone on here know the printing method they are using?

Thanks for any info.

Steve

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Fine art printing method source

Peter Lik prints onto Fuji Crystal Archive SuperGloss. Crystal Archive comes in several types with super gloss being one of them. Chromiras are very popular for printing to that paper. Inkjet printing is a different method.
    Test your images on a number of different surfaces & choose which ones you like the best to represent the look & feel you are seeking.

Post Thanks / Like

thanks, that explains the look for sure. Now I'll look around for a printer to do some tests. And I thought I was done forever with out-sourcing chemical printing….

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by ShooterSteve View Post
    thanks, that explains the look for sure. Now I'll look around for a printer to do some tests. And I thought I was done forever with out-sourcing chemical printing….