The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

question on electronic shutter

dekap

I'm a newbie here and about to buy a technical camera and digital back. I intend to use the camera primarily for landscape photography. Would be using an electronic shutter be bad if the environment is static? I never had a problem with my Leica or Hasselblad. If I purchase a lens that didn't have a Copal shutter, would that be bad for resale? Thanks

Boinger

I use e-shutter most of the time, without much issue. Resale wise if it is a rare lens I think someone will buy it and repurpose it if they really need a shutter as I did with a Schneider 150mm digitar I just bought. Had a Rollei E-shutter, I had a spare copal on a lens I wasn't using so I swapped the two and got the scales corrected.

4*Paul

I use the ES 100% of the time shooting landscapes with my IQ3 100 and find it excellent. The best firmware update I’ve ever had!
Sure, if a car crosses the scene, it will end up a funny shape but that never happens intentionally in my shots.
Moving leaves and waves never look odd to me so, as you can see, I’m a great advocate of using the ES for this type of photography.
I use touch screen with 2 seconds delay unless I want to catch a specific moment (wave breaking maybe) when I use a the old latency cable with a push button half way down. Can’t recall the proper name for this at the moment though.
Hope this helps.
Paul.

Paul2660