Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    201
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Having owned the DP1 for 8 months and getting a couple of really nice landscape shots I am starting to question my overall satisfaction. The GRDIII looks like it will still give me very good landscape IQ overall plus a much faster lens that is still razor sharp and the ability to shoot macro and in low light.
    One of my desires is the ability to shoot indoors with tungsten lighting for family and friends without flash, can the GRDIII handle this I wonder?
    Any thoughts on this matter will be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Senior Member markwon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    403
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    bbodine9, Having owned the DP1 and DP2 at one point, I can tell you that the higher ISO shots are much more usable with the GRDIII. While the b&w conversions on the DPx cameras have more flexibility, the colors just get problematic starting ISO400, especially with tricky lighting.

    Here are some snapshots at higher ISO's, in mixed lighting situations, all taken DNG then uploaded as full sized Jpegs in LR2.5:

    ISO 617, f1.9 1/30

    ISO 911, f1.9, 1/30

    ISO 1600, f1.9 1/17


    When the files are converted to b&w, the ISO1600 images are very usable at smaller print sizes, and lack the harsh digital noise of many p&s. The noise is a bit more organic looking, I guess more "filmic" as they say.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,627
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    apples and oranges. these lovely pics. however the dp12 a different quality. and this is where the web doesn't do justice to comparisons.

    wayne
    www.pbase.com/wwp

  4. #4
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Quote Originally Posted by smokysun View Post
    apples and oranges. these lovely pics. however the dp12 a different quality. and this is where the web doesn't do justice to comparisons.

    wayne
    www.pbase.com/wwp
    Absolutely,

    Horses for Courses as some might say.
    The truth of the matter is that the DP's have a depth to the images no other camera has been able to get.

  5. #5
    Senior Member markwon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    403
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Wayne and Don, there is no doubt the images from the DPx are special. But the OPs question was in reference to indoor lowlight, high ISO shots, which we all know, is a strong limitation of the Sigma's, no arguing that. Unless one is willing to work b&w only at higher ISO ranges.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Mark,
    I wouldn't mind taking a closer look at your new cam....
    Maybe we could do a coffee meet or Sushi one day...
    Let me know....
    Don

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    CAnt talk about the GRDIII but I also feel the dp1 and dp2 are great for low MP low ISO images but anything about ISO400 gets problematic regarding color. And even at lower ISO I personally felt skin colors tricky.
    I recently got myself a G11 and after seeing first results I plan to sell my dpx cameras.
    And as interesting it is to live with a fast prime I do use the zoom function all the time.
    I admit though that the user interface of the small Ricohs is even better than that of the Canon G-series. I am however pretty happy so far.
    Cheers,Tom

  8. #8
    Senior Member markwon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    403
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Don, that would be fun. sent you a pm on it.

    Quote Originally Posted by Streetshooter View Post
    Mark,
    I wouldn't mind taking a closer look at your new cam....
    Maybe we could do a coffee meet or Sushi one day...
    Let me know....
    Don

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: DP1 replace with GRDIII ???

    Quote Originally Posted by markwon View Post
    Don, that would be fun. sent you a pm on it.
    Mark,
    Maybe I'll bring the Pen for you to see....
    I also have a Leica UR250 I'm thinking about selling.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •