The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Then I must be a small sensor kind of guy...

D

dickinsonjon

Last week I took a plunge and ordered a Nikon D40, thinking the huge sensor and reflex viewfinder (amongst other things) would signal a new age of photographic nirvana. After the first few days I realised several basic facts:

1. I actually prefer LCD compostion, then I can see outside the frame.
2. In the situations where high ISO performance of an APS-C sensor would be useful, I'd almost never be carrying it.
3. In fact, I just didn't want to carry it around - I'm an opportunistic photographer, i.e. I take photos during my life in general.
4. So why didn't I just buy a GX100 instead then eh?

So, I packed up the DSLR and it's going back tomorrow for a refund, and now I have to get back to the decision between GX100, LX2 and G9 that was occupying me before I was diverted from my real needs! I suspect it's going to be GX100 time. And I didn't return the 4GB Extreme III SDHC card, figured that will come in handy:)

And this morning, we had a very rare case of several inches of snow, so I went out and about, armed with my trusty compact, and grabbed a few shots of the snow. Here's one:

Cheers
JD

thomasl.se

1. I actually prefer LCD compostion, then I can see outside the frame.
2. In the situations where high ISO performance of an APS-C sensor would be useful, I'd almost never be carrying it.
3. In fact, I just didn't want to carry it around - I'm an opportunistic photographer, i.e. I take photos during my life in general.
4. So why didn't I just buy a GX100 instead then eh?