Site Sponsors
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Opinions? Ditch the DSLR for a small sensor camera?

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Opinions? Ditch the DSLR for a small sensor camera?

Hi All,

I'm new to register here, but have been reading this forum avidly for the last couple of months thanks to learning from Terry (TEBnewyork) about how great it is. Thanks to you all for your contributions and all of the eye candy, amazing bunch of shooters here!

Thought you might be willing to indulge me with your opinions about turning away from a DLSR (I currently have the little Oly E410) and returning to the joys of a fixed lens camera. Over the last year and a half I've been trying to find the right camera for myself and have bought and sold the D-Lux 3, the Canon G7, and the Panasonic FZ8. The E410 remains for now, along with a Panny TZ3 for a fun carry-everywhere cam. Sad to say, I really haven't been totally happy with any of them. While the E410 undoubtedly has the best IQ of the lot, I'm really not fond of the 'character' of the shots I'm getting with the kit lenses. There's just no charm to them, if that makes any sense. (???) The D-Lux 3 was my favorite of those I've tried and I would have been very happy with it if only it had some sort of viewfinder ... I really prefer holding a camera up to my eye and using my face as a support!

So, now I'm pondering the idea of buying either:
    1) Used Digilux 2 (has a new sensor)
    2) Ricoh GX-100
    3) Leica V-Lux 1

Pros for the D2 are the LENS (love it), good EVF, clean files at ISO 100, sturdy build and high resale/collectible value Cons are "only" 5mp and blotchy noise at higher ISO's.

Pros for the GX-100 are portability - size is perfect - detachable EVF, 24mm wide end, price. Cons are the 'dust problem' and questionable reliability for the long haul.