Site Sponsors

Thread: Streetwork and the compact camera.

Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Streetwork and the compact camera.

Is there any interest in streetwork? That genre' is my main sourse of energy to feed my soul. I have come to terms with the Canon G9 and the Leica D-Lux 3. Those 2 cameras for me are better than anything else out there.

I qualify that statement by adding that I have a 5D, D300 and an M8. I've been a Leica photographer for many years and now that I'm full digital, these 2 cameras are it.

Does anybody work in this Genre'? Is there an interest here?

Shooter

Post Thanks / Like

Re: Streetwork and the compact camera.

hi shooter,
    i suspect you've opened pandora's box! most people here interested, i suspect, as the small sensor camera seems made for this kind of work. very nice shots on your site. i just re-read a book that's fairly scarce but very enjoyable and several copies available at amazon. grab it right away, if you want one.

http://www.amazon.com/Shots-Hip-Anot...6180284&sr=8-1

as for cameras, i did shoot a lot with the d-lux 2 and finally despaired of its low-light performance. now my two favorite cameras are the fuji 30/31 and the fuji s6000.

check out the threads on the ricoh's. this is turning out to be the choice of many people.

anyway, i'm glad you've started this thread. hopefully a lot of people will respond.

wayne
    www.pbase.com/wwp

Post Thanks / Like
    Images

There is a loose affiliation of about 20-30 people I stay in regular contact with who shoot street. You can find some ok stuff on PN - but most have migrated away to Flickr.

There is no tradition of posting pics according to genre on here yet- most of the attempts have been under camera type categories - which to any street shooter - is a total joke.

Super Duper
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images

Quote Originally Posted by PeterA View Post