The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

canon powershot sd870is taking dark pictures can anyone help?

S

sherry

Hello..I am new to this so I hope I am posting this the right place..

I recently bought a Canon SD870IS..love the camera..but I am having problems with certain pictures being dark/blurry.. for example..went to a wedding Sat., at 3p.m. church was well lit as well as the reception.. my pictures where just turning out dark..

I tried..every setting literally.. from kids/pets..indoors..nighttime etc..I am pretty sure I tried them all and nothing was working..

is there something I am doing wrong or something I may be missing or is this a down fall I found out to late in this camera..

I appreciate any advice or comments..
thanks so much!!
Sherry

Terry

Hi Sherry,
Welcome. Perhaps a higher ISO would have helped you need less light. Do you know what it was set to? You would be surprised that even churches that seem well lit won't have as much light as you think. if you were zoomed in with the camera you would have been at f5.8 and the blurry is because the camera then had a slow shutter speed. If you can look at the data from the picture and post that it will help in figuring out the settings.

S

sherry

hope I doing this right..
first..
here is what I took off of one the photo's..like I said I was switching all around..

one of the pictures:
shooting mode: Auto
tv shutter speed 1/60
av 5.8
exp. comensation 0
ISO speed 250 auto
focal length..17.3
white balance..auto..
like I stated I took a good bit of pictures..different modes..