Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Some Information From Ricoh

  1. #1
    Sean_Reid
    Guest

    Some Information From Ricoh

    On response to my questions about the AF system on the GR II, my contact at Ricoh Japan wrote the following:

    "The reason why AF system for GRDll has been changed.

    GRD ll incorporates a TTL CCD-AF auto focus system.
    As this utilizes an image sensor to gauge distance, the system enables the
    multi AF to cover a wide range.
    It also has the advantage of achieving precision spot AF without the
    influence of parallax, on all subjects, whatever all distance. Operating
    more rapidly than the CCD-AF in GR DIGITAL the new system renders
    unnecessary the external AF that has been combined in use up to now."

    He also sent two documents which I thought might be of interest to people here, attached is the first:

  2. #2
    Sean_Reid
    Guest

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    The second document is an overview of the GR2. Also, Tony Rose at Popflash.com (whom I've had excellent experience with) should have the 40 mm (EFOV) accessory lens in stock by 12/21 although I don't know how many he's getting. According to Ricoh, this lens can also be used with the GR.

    The second PDF seems to be too large for the forum. I'll ask Guy and Jack.

    Cheers,

    Sean

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    belgļe
    Posts
    1,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    thank you for passing on the information, Sean. looking forward to the second PDF.

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Maggie O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Standards Are Down All Over
    Posts
    3,064
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Sean, if you've got a Mac, you could drop the PDF in my public folder and I can host it a mediawench.com.

  5. #5
    Sean_Reid
    Guest

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Thanks very much Maggie but I'm not, yet, on a Mac.

    Cheers,

    Sean

  6. #6
    Member gromitspapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    220
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    +1 on Tony Rose at Popflash. He was excellent to deal with on the purchase of a Zeiss lens, and when I thought I had a focusing problem with it, he immediately offered to send me another one to compare with it. I would buy Ricoh gear from him over Adorama. Much more personal, and amazing support.

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Maggie O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Standards Are Down All Over
    Posts
    3,064
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Quote Originally Posted by Sean_Reid View Post
    Thanks very much Maggie but I'm not, yet, on a Mac.

    Cheers,

    Sean
    Well, you could always email it to me: [email protected]

  8. #8
    Sean_Reid
    Guest

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Thanks very much Maggie. I sent it to Guy and I think he can post it here.

    Cheers,

    Sean

  9. #9
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Here we go and i made it a sticky. Thanks Sean for getting this

    http://forum.getdpi.com/forum/showthread.php?t=358
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Maggie O's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Standards Are Down All Over
    Posts
    3,064
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Man, I want one of those little buggers.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    351
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Anyone know what flash that is, on the accessory page?

  12. #12
    Senior Member Robert Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Norn Iron
    Posts
    1,097
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Quote Originally Posted by clay stewart View Post
    Anyone know what flash that is, on the accessory page?
    The manual recommends (under heading 'Item') either:
    Sigma EF-530 DG SUPER [sic] or
    Sigma EF-530 DG ST

    and at 'Model' for both it is SA-STTL.

    It gives intructions how to use a recommended unit, and also a non-recommended unit.

    I'm none the wiser.

    Bertie

  13. #13
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Lili's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,527
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Campbell View Post
    The manual recommends (under heading 'Item') either:
    Sigma EF-530 DG SUPER [sic] or
    Sigma EF-530 DG ST

    and at 'Model' for both it is SA-STTL.

    It gives intructions how to use a recommended unit, and also a non-recommended unit.

    I'm none the wiser.

    Bertie
    Bertie I have a Sigma EF-530 DG ST; it is huge compared to my GRD.
    BTW I take umbrage at item 16, with the latest firmware update (2.40) you CAN adjust the flash output on the GRD I

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    351
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert Campbell View Post
    The manual recommends (under heading 'Item') either:
    Sigma EF-530 DG SUPER [sic] or
    Sigma EF-530 DG ST

    and at 'Model' for both it is SA-STTL.

    It gives intructions how to use a recommended unit, and also a non-recommended unit.

    I'm none the wiser.

    Bertie
    Thanks Robert.

  15. #15
    dkogan
    Guest

    Re: Some Information From Ricoh

    The table says that the GX100 has adjustable flash power. What is this referring to? The only relevant setting that my GX100 has is the "soft flash," which doesn't make any difference I can notice. Can anybody see a difference between the "soft flash" and "flash on" settings?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •