Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Silkypix default setting for LX3

  1. #1
    Workshop Member Woody Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    66

    Silkypix default setting for LX3

    I'm starting this thread to collect peoples' experience with Silkypix. What default setting are you using in terms of lens correction, and sharpening and noise reduction at various ISOs? Do you prefer the sharpening tool, the unsharp mask feature in the output panel, or are you sharpening in another application?

    Silkypix seems to give good results; many people swear by it. But it's actually driving me nuts to have to learn the interface for yet another large, complex piece of software. (I fortunately caught a typo in the title to this post before I posted it - I had written "Silkypox". Maybe there is a subconscious.)

  2. #2
    Senior Member Will's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near London
    Posts
    1,054
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    I've given up trying to use it. Haven't got the patience.

  3. #3
    Senior Member kweide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,631
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    Try RawTherapee. Great piece of sw, easy to use and at no costs !

  4. #4
    Senior Member Will's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Near London
    Posts
    1,054
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    Is there a Mac version of RawTherapee?

  5. #5
    Senior Member kweide's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,631
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    Windows and Linux only

    http://www.rawtherapee.com/

    ... sorry

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    Now that there is a DNG converter out, I don't use
    silkypox. It is not intuitive at all. Lightroom does a
    great job on the files. Soon the normal converter
    will be available from Adobe and it will be even better.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,446
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    I use UFRAW. I think it uses the same engine as RawTherapee. Both have similar options, but UFRAW can be used to load up images straight into GIMP after converting from RAW

    MAzor

  8. #8
    Workshop Member Woody Campbell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    2,120
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    66

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    Quote Originally Posted by Streetshooter View Post
    Now that there is a DNG converter out, I don't use
    silkypox. It is not intuitive at all. Lightroom does a
    great job on the files. Soon the normal converter
    will be available from Adobe and it will be even better.
    Streetshooter - I'm forever in you debt.

    When you open an LX3 file in Silkypix there is significant CA - that's one of the reasons I started this thread. Somehow, when you convert with the DNG converter DNG eliminates it - presumably based in a recipe imbedded in the file. So not only is DNG much more convenient in that a lets me use my LR workflow, it produces better results. Samples below:

    Silkypix:

    Attachment 9975


    DNG:

    Attachment 9976

    I also don't care for the look of the Silkypix noise reduction - another reason for starting this thread. Using LR puts me back on familiar ground in this respect.

    Again, thanks.

  9. #9
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: Silkypix default setting for LX3

    No thanks needed, glad to help.
    A few more things.....

    There is a firmware update due out 12/15 for
    the LX3.

    Save your raw files as the new DNG converter
    is also due soon. This will further enhance the
    conversion and also make the files a more normal
    size. I am told that it will not convert the DNG files from
    the current version, only raw files.

    The update for LR is due soon also and should have
    the DNG converter in it. I always use the stand
    alone converter anyway.

    Good luck.....shooter

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •