Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: LX3 Processing

  1. #1
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    LX3 Processing

    Question of the day . Can you make these files into something that C1 can see and work with.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    I too would love to know the answer to this question.
    the D-Lux4 is to rich for my blood and I already own 2 paid licenses for C1
    Guy, are you in the same boat?
    I like LR as a program (layout, tools ....) but the actual conversions just don't do it for *me* compared to C1...
    Part of the reason why I have the G10 for the time being.
    am

  3. #3
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: LX3 Processing

    The problem is that Adobe still has not updated the DNG converter. The current one works but makes a very large file due to the lens corrections etc. I used DNG and imported to LR but was very unhappy...without the promise of a new version, I sold the camera.
    Do either of you have SSP? I'd be glad to try my files thru that and see what happens.
    Silky Pix actually does a decent job but is not intuitive.....

    Sorry I don't use C1 and your question on the surface seems to be about that but I read it as any program that will process the files in the best way....

    Let me know if I can help...don

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Don
    Thank you for the input... what's SSP ?
    am

  5. #5
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by arashm View Post
    I too would love to know the answer to this question.
    the D-Lux4 is to rich for my blood and I already own 2 paid licenses for C1
    Guy, are you in the same boat?
    I like LR as a program (layout, tools ....) but the actual conversions just don't do it for *me* compared to C1...
    Part of the reason why I have the G10 for the time being.
    am
    Exactly and reason I was thinking G10. I want C1 as my processing engine
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by arashm View Post
    Don
    Thank you for the input... what's SSP ?
    am
    Sigma Photo Pro....actually a very good program....

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    245
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Thanks Streetshooter
    I will look into it, I actually like Raw Developer as well, but my first choice is C1.
    am

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    belgļe
    Posts
    1,492
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: LX3 Processing

    ummmmmmm... if you read down on this thread or some other one (sorry, don't have the camera but know people have done it), it can be done with a little leg work.

    shame on you, Guy, for not springing for the red dot! they should disinvite you to the S2 special screening (or at least give me that red M8.2 )

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Metro area
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Cam (immediately above) is correct as to the thread. Then scroll down to the post by exdeejjjaaaa.

    I don't have the camera, nor C1 for that matter, so I cannot comment on the accuracy of the recommendations.

  10. #10
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Thanks kids. I have a credit at Dell from a return so no Leica sold there.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  11. #11
    Senior Member Tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Adelaide, SA
    Posts
    1,040
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Quote Originally Posted by Guy Mancuso View Post
    Question of the day . Can you make these files into something that C1 can see and work with.
    Guy,

    I bought a LX3 and was also a bit sad to find that the bundled Silkypix version only opens LX3 RAW (RW2?) files. It wont open DNGs even. I was hoping to use it for my GRDII files but alas its not allowed.

    So its a bit sad both ways.

  12. #12
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Bummer
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    534
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Im about to take the Capture one Pro plunge and was concerned about this too.

    Looks like ExifTool now supports RW2 files so might just be a matter of changing the Exif to D-Lux4. Will try this later and report back. Would be cool.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Washington, DC Metro area
    Posts
    67
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: LX3 Processing

    Capture One users: Take a look at the post by Rene Hermanides on this thread (on another forum):

    http://photo.net/casual-conversations-forum/00S3Io


    [I don't have the camera, and don't have Capture One either. Just passing along what I read.]

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •