Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Sony RX10iii raw images

  1. #1
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Sony RX10iii raw images

    All my other cameras raw images allow me to 'develop' them in PS6. Unfortunately PS6 no longer updates the raw images to the latest cameras, unless I subscribe to the program when I can download it when I need.
    I have no intention of doing this as I paid for my PS6 long ago!
    What raw converter do you use with your RX10iii as I cannot get on with the Sony Capture One program at all even though I have used C1 up to C1 version 8.
    Many thanks.
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  2. #2
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    pegelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    If you download the latest Adobe dng converter and convert the raw files to dng format then PS6 can handle them.
    My Pics
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  3. #3
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    Thank you for this. The problem is because the Sony RX10iii has only one card slot, my files contain both the .jpg and .raw images. The Adobe .dng converter converts both to .dng unless I convert them individually which takes a long time. There are times when the .jpg image is good enough for my needs.
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  4. #4
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    pegelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    You could copy all files from your card to your hard drive, then split the jpg's in one subdirectory and the raws in another. Then only batch convert the files in the raw subdirectory.

    I worked that way with my NEX6 for almost two years when I was still running LR 3 (because my OS wasn't supported by the later LR versions).
    It adds one step to your workflow, but I found it pretty quick and you only have to do it once when you import.



    The other thing you could do is download the free version of C1 for Sony. It's not as powerful as PS or LR but does the job.
    For 50$ you can get the pro version (for Sony) which is as good as or sometimes even better then the Adobe conversion in PS or LR.
    My Pics
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  5. #5
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    Thank you pegelli. I have C1 for Sony but just can't get on with it compared to older versions of C1. I would upgrade to C1Pro if I did anything in that direction. A .dng converter that just accepted an instruction to only convert raw images would be just great.

    Yes I thought of separating the raw and jpg's into separate folders but was trying to avoid putting another procedure into my PP procedures! I was just born lazy really!
    Incidentally I always down load to a predestined folder on one of my remote multi disc set up's and back up yet again to another....belt and braces stuff!
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    pegelli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    3,636
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    Yup, it's always difficult to avoid additional steps if your current tools don't support your new camera.

    If the choice is 2 or 3 extra steps on import to use the tool you're familiar with vs. learning a new tool to do the conversions I would choose the former, but that's just me.
    My Pics
    Likes 1 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #7
    Member dbogdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brighton MI.
    Posts
    70
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    Quote Originally Posted by dhsimmonds View Post
    All my other cameras raw images allow me to 'develop' them in PS6. Unfortunately PS6 no longer updates the raw images to the latest cameras, unless I subscribe to the program when I can download it when I need.
    I have no intention of doing this as I paid for my PS6 long ago!
    What raw converter do you use with your RX10iii as I cannot get on with the Sony Capture One program at all even though I have used C1 up to C1 version 8.
    Many thanks.
    http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/...in/idc/us.html

    db
    Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked for this post

  8. #8
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    905
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: Sony RX10iii raw images

    So the new Sony RX10 iv is announced with deliveries starting in October. It's the Mk3 but with a very fast phase detection auto focus and weather proofed, otherwise it's the same lens etc., it seems to me.
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •