The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

GRD2: If I _had_ to occasionally shoot JPEGs...

J

jsb

Hi, to all of you...

First, I need to say I've spent a lot of time reading all of your great posts, and looking at all of the incredible images posted here on this forum; and I have to say that there are some seriously talented individuals in this forum! I have learned A LOT! And that's the reason why I'm posting, to solicit some advice...

I'm not a pro, but I am concerned about image quality. I'm shooting some RAW and some JPEGs. For family photos, I'd like to be able to occasionally shoot JPEGs, as there are some situations I feel are more suited for taking a quick image without a whole lot of thought.

So, given that, what would you recommend for getting the best JPEG image quality from the GRD2? I think that there will likely be a given set of constraints, and I'm trying to figure out what those constraints are.

Thank you, in advance, for your time and consideration.

Best wishes to all...

jon

L

LotC

... what would you recommend for getting the best JPEG image quality from the GRD2?

Use lower iso (up to 200iso) to keep noise to a minimum, if that may be an issue for you.

Keep an eye on your white balance. Use a custom white balance if necessary.

Watch your histogram, the camera is your lightmeter, so control your exposure.

Best quality jpeg relies on the user getting it right in camera. The camera won't do it for you.