The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

a question on shooting, not technology

nostatic

I am a decent macro shooter, but I am not very good at shooting people. Well, I have good groupings with my Sig p226 but that is a different type of shooting ;)

I've seen some wonderful shots of people here and I was wondering what your approach is. I think part of my problem is that I feel self-conscious pointing a camera at someone I don't know. Do you just snap away on the street, or do you talk to them first, or ? And are you thinking anything in particular? The one exception is that I get some great shots of my son. But I think that is because I have great empathy with him and am able to find where he is.

L

Lewis

Sometimes it's best just to shoot I find-I have had a few people give me abuse for taking their photo, but I just ignore it. I'm sure it's sometimes good to ask but they may say no...can you take that risk? I'm still building up confidence, I find it helps if you've been drinking heavily! :D

H

helgipelgi

Just smile and act like a tourist -- I don't think people mind having their picture taken if you're well-meaning and honest about it, i.e. that you engage with them and give something back in the interaction.

Also you may want to check out Sean Reid's article about photographing strangers. I haven't read it yet as I've just recently subscribed to his site, but I have a feeling there's some good stuff in there

nostatic