The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

D Lux-3 Vs GX100

sagar

Though this is my first post here, I have litrarly gone through all 10 pages of the “Small Sensor Forum” before registering :)

Now back to my question and some background. I am a purely hobbyist photographer trying to learn few things from here and there. I have earlier used D70 and 400D DSLRs, but stop using them due to inconvenience of carrying them around. To close my love affair with DSLRs just yesterday I sold my 400D and stuff on Fred Miranda forum and now searching for best compact that would give me full control over any of camera settings.

From my experience, the best compact I have used is Canon S50 with RAW support but sadly canon stopped that series :(. So after reading here and there and especially on this forum I have come to the conclusion that Lux-3 and GX100 are among the best photographic tools available today. While I am keenly inclined towards GX100 just to try something different, only thing stopping me from purchasing it is some dust issues I read on dpreview and some other forums. Interestingly I did not see a single thread about this problem on this forum. I know or presume that with Lux 3 I will have piece of mind about quality and support but not so sure about GX100.

So I am torn between the two and looking forward for some insight on these aspects of these two little wonders.

cheers...sagar

C

Chuck A