The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Finally a Carl Zeiss 24 mm f 2.0 coming

ptomsu

Workshop Member
Wedding was just an example Marc, I only speak for that which I know, any profession which requires backup on site would be the same would it not?
Not being a pro myself, but even as passionate non pro photographer I would not consider carrying 2 different DSLR systems at the same time, simply because operating these systems is so different that it just can be the source of failure.

Truth is that each system has its merits and drawbacks and all have their outstanding lenses etc. Unfortunately these are not coming from just 1 system.

fotografz

Makes sense to me, Marc. Granted, your mentor's advice may need a little updating, because we don't all use the same "film" in cameras anymore, so the body makes more of a difference these days.

p.s. Man, I would kill for a couple of M9s!
That's about what you'd have to do to get two of them douglas. :wtf: I got one of the first 20 into the USA, then I dropped to the bottom of the list for the second one. So, until I get the M9 back-up, I'll have to drag the Sony bag of bricks to every wedding. A M8 is not an option, been there, done that.

M9 is the BEST 35mm camera I've ever used in terms of IQ to my eye. I only wish Leica had produced the AF R10 successor to the CCD DMR, which was the next best 35mm camera I've ever used regarding IQ. I just have never taken to any CMOS sensor camera ... the Sony probably being the closest.

My dream is to off the 35mm DSLRs completely like Jack just did. The latest crop of MFDs has raised my hopes that can be accomplished.

-Marc

T