Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    210
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    14

    Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    When I first got my A850, I enabled in-camera DRO, realizing that I may reprocess the raw file afterwards and achieve a similar effect manually. My use of the DRO JPEG was for quick viewing, uploading, and sharing. However, with time, I learned that DRO would give me a false sense of exposure when reviewing shots immediately after exposure on the camera's rear LCD. It appears that the image displayed there is the DRO JPEG, not a rendering of the RAW file. This has led to some mis-judgements of exposure and true available dynamic range and I have since turned this feature off. Asking more experienced and professional users: If you save JPEGS in addition to RAW, do you enable DRO? If so, which setting, and for what situations? - Christopher

  2. #2
    Senior Member douglasf13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,965
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    You are absolutely correct. Although DRO doesn't directly affect raw files, leaving it turned on can lead to misjudging exposure. I leave it off when shooting raw.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    I use it sparingly when I shoot jpegs. I hardly shoot jpegs.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Brooklyn NY
    Posts
    84
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    Im a new a850 user with very little experience at this time. I purchased an ebook from Gary Friedman on the a900 a850 cameras and found it very help full. He claims that the DRO Standard setting does affect raw, not any of the other DRO Settings.

  5. #5
    Senior Member douglasf13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    1,965
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    Even if the DRO setting doesn't affect the raw itself, it affects the jpeg preview on your LCD screen, and that may mislead you into thinking you exposed the shot correctly. Ultimately, if you shoot raw, leave DRO off to avoid confusion.

  6. #6
    Senior Member edwardkaraa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Bangkok
    Posts
    1,470
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    Quote Originally Posted by JusLookN View Post
    I use it sparingly when I shoot jpegs. I hardly shoot jpegs.
    M262 ZM 25/2.8 35/1.4 50/2 85/2

  7. #7
    wogand
    Guest

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    Hi, I found this forum and have the same question as engel001.
    I am also new to the A900 and recently bought the same book mentioned above from Gary Friedman. Great book.

    I was also thinking of shooting jpg next to raw and testing DRO but haven't found the opportunity yet. Also not sure what the benifit is in shooting jpg next to RAW.

    Nice forum btw

  8. #8
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    904
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    Hi Wogund

    Welcome to the Forum. You are correct, there is very little point in adding jpegs to Raw capture. It just uses up memory space and if like me you only ever use images "developed" from raw images there is no benefit at all.

    There was a time when browsing/viewing software could only handle jpeg images and then the Raw with jpeg capture option came into it's own.
    Now most of them will allow raw images to be viewed either immediately after capture or later. I guess it's a hang over from those days. The A900 allows raw only or raw/jpeg so I just select Raw only.
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  9. #9
    Jjcra
    Guest

    Re: Do you use in-camera Sony DRO?

    I just got the 850 as well, after shooting the A700 for awhile I have to agree on that the jpg files do give you a false sense. It gave the appearance of at least 1 stop overexposed so adjusting then to find raw files underexposed.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •