The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Manual 35mm lens for NEX - help me choose!

K

kadamian

Guys, help me, please.

I am torn between these lenses:

Voigt Nokton 35/1.4
Leica Cron 35/2 pre-asph (the asph is too expensive and quite long)
Zeiss Biogon C 35/2.8
Contax G 35/2

Dimensions are about the same, i can't figure out which one will give the best image (no pixel-peeping!).
I plan shooting my wife in usual walkaround + travel shots in different locations. Plus some landscape shots and architectural, but 95% of shots are environmental portraits (e.g. half body w/background)

This is my first attempt to dive in the manual focus lenses.
I have been considering fuji X100 as well but i realised that i like the 50mm much more than 35mm.

p.s. as an alternative there is also samsung 30/2 which, i assume, gives about the same amount of OOF (but the quality might be worse) blur as the above mentioned ones. but since samsung cameras fail at low light this is just a back-up option.

p.s. i am leaning towards the Zeiss, actually for its build quality and optics that are equal to cron asph but 2.8 f-stop bogs me a bit - is f2 makes a LOT of difference in the amount of OOF blur? Or the difference between, say, cron or nokton f2 (which i will shoot in daylight to get nice blur) is negligible with zeiss 2.8?

Contax is also nice but the focusing can be a problem (even via adapter)

Thanks in advance!

hot

I am waiting for Samyang 35mm / 1.4 ... I hope it's coming soon.
Price < $400

K

kadamian

I see no point in getting lenses that are several times bigger than Nex body - it just doesn't make sense.

edwardkaraa