The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

fast 50 for A900

Hank Graber

The Leica 50/1.4 R definately has the glow. I'm still learning it in terms of contrast, resolution colour, but it is everything I expected.
I can see this is going to get expensive :) When it comes to fast 50's I'd agree you really can't beat Leica. I've been looking at the E55 and E60 versions of the Summilux-R 50. Spectacular performance- at spectacular prices. The E60 is really in nose bleed pricing territory.

C

curious80

I have the Minolta 50/2.8 macro which I absolutely love but would like a 50/1.4 for low light and I really don't care for the look of the Sony/Minolta 50/1.4.

I have used both Minolta 50mm 2.8 and Sony 50mm 1.4 and I am surprised that you like one but not the other. I found them to be very similar in their rendering and color rendition (though I only used them on a crop camera so that could be a factor).

JimU

Not Available
well, i got my 3 cam 50'lux e55 and 50 mp zf.1 each < $1k via ebay / craigslist.

doesn't have to break the bank.

Hank Graber

I have used both Minolta 50mm 2.8 and Sony 50mm 1.4 and I am surprised that you like one but not the other. I found them to be very similar in their rendering and color rendition (though I only used them on a crop camera so that could be a factor).
I've never seen OOF rendering from my Macro 2.8 like shown in the picture of cattle above from the 1.4. Always very smooth.

glenerrolrd

Workshop Member