Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: One wish for Nex7 firmware

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    One wish for Nex7 firmware

    After "playing" with the Nex 7 for 2 days i am pretty amazed by that camera.
    The handling and IQ more than fulfill my expectations so far.
    There is just one thing I wish for: settings for auto iso: let us choose max ISO and longest exp time for autoiso.
    In many areas the Nex7 offers soooo many options (more than I really need) for customization. But this would be really usefull for me.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    what would you say is acceptable high iso on the 7?

  3. #3
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    I would like to be able to crank auto ISO up to 6400 for instances that I need it. But I would want the camera firmware to have both a shutter speed limit and a user selectable Auto ISO limit. For my personal shooing, in some situations I would put a limit of 1600 and others 6400. I don't go crazy and limit what ISOs I can use. If the light is that bad I limit the size of output that i use. I'd rather have a small shot than no shot. Also, processing improves over time. Even between LR3 and LR4 people are saying there are some shots where LR3 couldn't recover highlight properly that LR4 is doing a good job with.
    Last edited by Terry; 15th January 2012 at 09:57.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    413
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    I agree with Tom and Terry, this would be a useful addition in a future firmware update. Though for me not absolutely necessary. I find changing ISO, f-stop and shutter so easy on the NEX 7 that working in manual mode is very comfortable. Maybe even less hassle than diving in to the menu to set auto ISO limits, etc. YMMV

    Ken, as Terry says, it depends on your output, but I think 3200 can be used without hesitation if needed.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    44
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    I don't have a NEX-7 (yet), but with various cameras, I've found that switching from aperture priority to shutter priority when using Auto ISO solves the minimum shutter speed problem. None of my cameras with Auto ISO seem to handle minimum shutter speed as I would.

  6. #6
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by jsparks View Post
    I don't have a NEX-7 (yet), but with various cameras, I've found that switching from aperture priority to shutter priority when using Auto ISO solves the minimum shutter speed problem. None of my cameras with Auto ISO seem to handle minimum shutter speed as I would.
    Yes, thats an option but sometimes you want to control the depth of field and not allways use full open aparture.

  7. #7
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    jonoslack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    East Anglia & Cornwall (UK)
    Posts
    11,778
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    I quite agree Tom
    if you're using 3rd party lenses, then the camera doesn't know the focal length, so it would be great to fix a minimum shutter speed on auto ISO (and a higher ISO than 1600)

    Leica do this very nicely.

    Just this guy you know

  8. #8
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    +1 for minimum shutter speed (or even minimum Auto ISO).

    Possibly my biggest gripe with the 5N is that it favours ISO 100 too readily, occasionally leaving me with shutter speeds too low to freeze even slight movement. This is with e-mount lenses I might add.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    why not use S mode and tell it what shutter speed you want?

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Godfrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Near San Jose, California
    Posts
    7,931
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Hard to believe they left that out. They threw the rest of the kitchen sink into this little camera ... !

    G

  11. #11
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    by the way - while the S2 has it and the M9 has it the Leica X1 you can set it but the shortest exp time limit you can set for the x1 is 1/30!!!! This is as usufull as not having it.

    It is just a difference if we want to photograph stills or people and moving subjects.

    The very best integration of auto iso I found in the K5 where you have a mode where you can set aparture and exposure time and exp comp and then the camera will choose the ISO. Great!!! I used it all the time.
    All cameras should have that IMO.

  12. #12
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    why not use S mode and tell it what shutter speed you want?
    Because I like the camera choosing my DOF even less!

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    495
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by redsim74 View Post
    Because I like the camera choosing my DOF even less!
    ohh I though we were in the manual legacy lens world with an aperture ring.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    18
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by ken_vs_ryu View Post
    ohh I though we were in the manual legacy lens world with an aperture ring.
    It occurred to me you might think that. I suppose I did arrive at a bit of a tangent to the rest of the discussion!

  15. #15
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Can anybody tell me if there is autobracketing (exposure) is possible and how I can find it???

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    413
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    1 (Drive Mode) on the control wheel [Bracket: Cont.]. Or, MENU [Camera] [Drive Mode] [Bracket: Cont.].
    2 Option desired mode.
    To cancel the bracket, press (Drive Mode) and select [Single Shooting].

  17. #17
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    3,623
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by peterv View Post
    1 (Drive Mode) on the control wheel [Bracket: Cont.]. Or, MENU [Camera] [Drive Mode] [Bracket: Cont.].
    2 Option desired mode.
    To cancel the bracket, press (Drive Mode) and select [Single Shooting].
    Thank you Peter!!!

  18. #18
    chals
    Guest

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    I would like to assign both top tri-navi wheels for moving the focuspoint, one down, the other up. And one way to lock the videobutton, record 23minutes of useless video yesterday.

  19. #19
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Vivek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    13,610
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    21

    Re: One wish for Nex7 firmware

    Quote Originally Posted by chals View Post
    And one way to lock the videobutton, record 23minutes of useless video yesterday.

    I fully support that! Difficult know when it is pressed accidentally and too slow to shut it off, draining the battery in the process and taking up card space.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •