The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

How many A850/A900 shooters are going to hold on to their cameras?

Coming from 10 years+ of Canon shooting, I'm fairly new to the A900 but I sold all my Canon gear a couple of months ago in advance of the A99 and grabbed an A900 at a great price as a placeholder with the intent of selling it to help fund the A99. Now that the A99 is about to be launched, I'm positive that I'll be holding on to the A900 and using it as a daylight shooter or second body for some assignments. It is just too good to give up.

So I'm curious if other Sony FF shooters are going to abandon their A850/900s or hold onto them for the duration?

Chad

LoSenior

Chad,
I've had my a900 since they came out and will continue to use it.
I'm going to sell my Zeiss zooms to lighten the load, great gear and a pleasure to use.
Jerry

jfirneno

Chad: I have a feeling that even if the A99 gives me an upgrade on my A-850 (meaning clean ISO 6400, better AF, equal IQ) I have a feeling I'll keep my old camera. I was using it this last weekend in NYC and I really enjoyed it. But we'll see.

Regards,
John

fotografz

Yes, I'll keep both of them I think since the A99 electronic viewfinder resolution is the same as the A77, which I hated. Sony put a great OVF in the A900, and that's going to be hard to beat.

The only thing that might change my mind is if the high ISO is a lot better than the A77 ... like 2 or 3 stops better. Then I might get one, but keep an A900

-Marc