Site Sponsors
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 51 to 63 of 63

Thread: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

  1. #51
    Administrator, Instructor Guy Mancuso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    23,623
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2555

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    I like it as well. Not sure why folks think its clunky. To me its very intuitive.
    Photography is all about experimentation and without it you will never learn art.

    www.guymancusophotography.com

  2. #52
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    i've been using C1 since the M8 came out and it is my go to converter. takes a bit to get into the mindset and vocabulary of the programmers, but it is now quite easy for me to get done what i want.

    the "sessions" concept drives many over the edge, but i use it and i think the confusion is mainly due to semantics.

    I see the site opening page now has some tips from Doug, which I applaud

  3. #53
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Capture One vs. Lightroom with A7R...

    Source files are taken from imaging-resource.

    C1 shows noticably less Moire and Aliasing.
    Or in other words... C1 extracts finer details.



    A7R - Aliasing + Moire - C1 above, LR below:





    A7R - Moire - C1 above, LR in the middle, below C1 again with Moire correction applied:





    Moire is mostly only present in 2 of the 3 color chanels. You can use the unaffected color chanel to do a pretty much lossless restoration.
    Here's the green chanel of the A7 (non-R this time) processed in C1 and LR. As you can see the green chanel of the C1 file is very good usable for moire restoration. In LR all three color chanels show moire:

    Likes 4 Member(s) liked this post

  4. #54
    Senior Member Amin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Boston, MA (USA)
    Posts
    1,809
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Yes!!!

  5. #55
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by fotografz View Post
    Are you sure left is LR, right is C1 ... ?

    In both cases the left one looks slightly better

    - Marc
    Yes Marc,
    My goal here was based on checking details only: how far can we push the fine details in both LR & C1 before artefacts become unacceptable ?
    IMO the C1 file clearly wins.
    For the rest, the left LR file also looks too soft and 2D to my taste. The C1 has too much contrast however, but that was not the point of showing those crops.
    If your remark is also based on details then I'm really surprised
    ___________________________________
    http://www.vincent-angillis.be

  6. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Near Brussels, Belgium, Europe
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by jagsiva View Post
    Am I the only one that actually prefers the UI and workflow in C1? Well I am Canadian and have been using it since v3.
    Nope, we're at least 2.
    Using LR for 3 weeks now for the A7r and am very happy to go back to C1.
    The one and only thing I'll miss is the highlights recovery of LR, something C1 should still improve.
    ___________________________________
    http://www.vincent-angillis.be
    Likes 2 Member(s) liked this post

  7. #57
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,347
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    12

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by anGy View Post
    Nope, we're at least 2.
    3.

    The user customizable workspaces in conjunction with customizable keyboard shortcurts alone make C1 so much faster and more convenient to work with ...

  8. #58
    Senior Member Ron Pfister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    661
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas View Post
    Capture One vs. Lightroom with A7R...

    Source files are taken from imaging-resource.

    C1 shows noticably less Moire and Aliasing.
    Or in other words... C1 extracts finer details.
    …snip…
    Thanks for posting these, Thomas. Quite a difference! I've been seeing the LR/ACR artifacts in DPR resolution tests, then. Been wondering for a while whether that could be improved upon during RAW conversion. Thanks for providing the answer!

  9. #59
    Member fmueller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    2

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    In my opinion, Capture One does better with the A7r. "orange peel" not an issue with C1 and the jaggies seem to be gone. Not sure why Adobe has such substandard results, it is unusual.

  10. #60
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    3,538
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by fmueller View Post
    In my opinion, Capture One does better with the A7r. "orange peel" not an issue with C1 and the jaggies seem to be gone. Not sure why Adobe has such substandard results, it is unusual.
    Not that unusual. I still remember the frustration with Adobe LR/ACR trying to translate Fuji X sensor raw data and the horrible looking "water color" landscape images.
    Carl
    Gallery

  11. #61
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    didn't notice when this showed up, but now you can drag your images around to reposition their order in the browser.

    thanks, much appreciated

  12. #62
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Manchester/Jerusalem
    Posts
    2,652
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    290

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    Not that unusual. I still remember the frustration with Adobe LR/ACR trying to translate Fuji X sensor raw data and the horrible looking "water color" landscape images.
    I do hope they fix the jaggies. I hadn't noticed them till I stopped down to f8 and started getting razor sharp images. They were everywhere.

    I like C1 for studio work. When you have to work with a whole bunch of images where most are the same settings and a few need heavy work. For normal shooting where you need to apply different settings to every image and complicated stuff at that, I find ACR to be superior, oh and faster.
    I am not a painter, nor an artist. Therefore I can see straight, and that may be my undoing. - Alfred Stieglitz

    Website: http://www.timelessjewishart.com

  13. #63
    Workshop Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Brooklyn
    Posts
    4,043
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1253

    Re: Capture One 7.16 adds A7(r) support

    i noted this elsewhere...i find that the resolution of the image presented in the C1 viewer is a bit less than the resolution of the processed tiff image in PS. was doing some lens tests using the air force target and viewing at 100%.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •